RSS

Peanut Butter Cookie Sandwiches

07 Mar

Peanut Butter Cookie Sandwiches

Peanut Butter
Cookie Sandwiches

I have to admit these were not my idea. Teresa from “Can’t stay out of the Kitchen” posted these and I have been wanting to make them forever. These are a complete delight and would be great as a dessert or special treat for friends. They are very rich, I promise 1 cookie sandwich will satisfy even the biggest cookie lover.

I combined my own peanut butter cookie recipe with Teresa’s peanut butter icing filling.

Ingredients:   yields about 2 dozen cookies, which will made 1 dozen cookie sandwiches

  • 1/4 cup shortening at room temperature
  • 1/4 cup salted butter at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 cup salted peanuts, chopped

Preheat your oven to 375 and line your cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, using an electric beater, cream together the shortening, butter, peanut butter, sugar, brown sugar and egg. Sift together the flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda. I generally sift all of these ingredients over the large bowl of creamed ingredients. Using a wooden spoon or rubber spatula stir the dry ingredients and peanuts into the creamed ingredients until thoroughly blended.

Roll a large tablespoon of cookie dough into a ball and place 2″ inches apart on a cookie sheet. Flatten the dough balls slightly by making a crisscross over them with a fork dipped in sugar. Bake 10 to 12 minutes.

Now for the good stuff, the peanut butter frosting/filing. Recipe courtesy of  Teresa at “Can’t Stay out of Kitchen”
cantstayoutofthekitchen.com

DSC_0127Ingredients
  • 1/2 cup Creamy Peanut Butter
  • 3 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 tsp  vanilla
  • 5-9 TB milk

In a large bowl beat the peanut butter, confectioner’s sugar, vanilla and enough milk to make the icing spreadable. I ended up using only 5 TB of milk, so start out with a couple and add more a little at a time until you get the consistency you want. Spread the icing over one cooked and top with another. Easy, simple and oh so delightful.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2014 in Cookies

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Peanut Butter Cookie Sandwiches

  1. JAMES KIMBROUGH

    March 7, 2014 at 12:41 PM

    Teri! I am an idiot. I couldn’t figure out why I keep getting posts from this address. I just realized it’s YOUR recipe site! I am so sorry i haven’t responded sooner. I will now look for these and will use some of your recipes! i’m doing my best to be gluten free, so I’ll have to modify the recipe’s only slightly. Please feel better soon! Jim

     
    • flyfishbrat

      March 7, 2014 at 12:44 PM

      LOL, you’re funny. I bet you thought you had a stalker. I’ve been toying with the idea of making items gluten free for Mark and I. So if you tweak a recipe of mine please share the changes….if you don’t mind. I would love to try the recipes gluten free.

       
  2. Dennis Martin

    March 7, 2014 at 8:01 PM

    Great recipes. Thanks.

     
    • flyfishbrat

      March 9, 2014 at 1:07 PM

      Thanks Dennis, I hope you and your wife will find something to make from my blog. See you in Arkansas in a week. Looks like it’s going to be great weather for fishing.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 160 other followers

