RSS

Dessert Nachos

12 Jan

 

Ingredients:

  •  4 flour tortillas (Azteca brand), quartered
  • vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup shaved white chocolate
  • 1/2 cup shaved dark chocolate (if you don’t like dark substitute milk chocolate)
  • 1 cup sweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 can Comstock strawberry pie filling

Cinnamon/Sugar Mixture

  • 1 Tablespoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

Pre-heat oven 350 and grease a glass baking dish. (I use Pam spray, but butter will work also) Mix sugar and cinnamon. I generally put them into a plastic zip lock baggy to do this. That way if I don’t use it all it’s already in a storage container for another day.
Pour enough vegetable oil in skillet to fry the tortilla chips. Heat oil on med-high heat. Fry chips to a light brown color.
Transfer fried chips to a bowl and sprinkle with cinnamon/sugar mixture.
In the greased baking dish layer chips. Top each layer with the shaved chocolate and coconut.
Bake for 20-30 minutes, until chocolate is melted.
Heat strawberry pie filling in a small sauce pan for dipping.
Serve immediately. Yields 4 portions

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 12, 2012 in Desserts

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Dessert Nachos

  1. Rhonda Mills

    January 14, 2012 at 11:13 AM

    Thank you cousin! I have printed out your reciepes for my use & family to enjoy as well.. With dealing with cancer all these years I am always looking for great ideas to eat healthier. With you opening up your heart an great ideas to share with everyone, even know you are across the States this will be GREAT. It’s like you are right next to me in my kitchen! Just love it! You have always have been there for me as a close cousin growing up but more as a sister. And, look now you are still helping me NOW!. I thank God everyday for having you in my life. Looking forward in reading all your favorite foods an share them with my kids & grandkids. Thank you for sharing your love an great ideas with me. Miss you Cousin!! 🙂

    Love You, Cousin Rhonda

     
    • flyfishbrat

      January 14, 2012 at 12:53 PM

      Rhonda that was the sweetest post ever, but you do realize that everyone, anyone, strangers can click on this comment and read it, right? I love you so very much and for me you are my sister. Enjoy the recipes, just posted one from Gramma, I’m sure you and Tim will love it.

       

Leave a Reply

 
