RSS

Meatloaf with Mary Bee’s Sweet Glaze

12 Jan

Meatloaf Ingredients:  4 to 5 servings

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1/2 pound good ground sausage
  • 3 slices “Whole Wheat Beer Bread” (see my recipe), torn in very small pieces,or use any of my Beer Bread recipes.
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 egg, whisked
  • 1/2 medium onion, minced (red, white, or yellow, your choice)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon each of these spices: ground black pepper, dry mustard, sage, garlic salt
  • 1 Tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

Mary Bee’s Sweet Glaze:

  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar, loose not packed

Preheat oven to 350. In a large bowl mix all meatloaf ingredients thoroughly. Shape into a loaf and place on a boiling pan. Bake 1 1/2 hours or until done. (For easy cleaning spray top of pan with Pam Spray and line the bottom of the pan with foil)

Whisk both ingredients for Mary Bee’s Sweet Glaze and set aside. During the last 45 minutes of baking, baste the meatloaf with the sweet glaze twice.

When the meatloaf is finished cooking let it rest for 5 minutes before slicing.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 12, 2012 in Beef

 

Tags: ,

8 responses to “Meatloaf with Mary Bee’s Sweet Glaze

  1. Joseph A Graff

    July 26, 2012 at 3:57 PM

    Hi Teri, I am going to be making this in a couple days and I have a question–maybe clarification is the better word. What kind of ground sausage do you use? I don’t mean brand. I mean, breakfast, Italian, fresh bratwurst or would any kind of sausage work?

     
    • flyfishbrat

      July 26, 2012 at 7:05 PM

      Hi Joseph, the sausage is from our local butcher shop, just labeled ground sausage. I’m thinking it’s probably more like breakfast sausage. I’m sure any sausage would work. Let me know what you think of the meatloaf, I have to say we love it so much I made it for a special pre-wedding party for my Son and Daughter-in-Law before we started all of the festivities.

       
  2. Joe Graff

    August 27, 2012 at 10:03 AM

    Hi Teri, I am making meatloaf today. I am going to take mine to a bit of a spicier place so I figured I could write up my recipe without it being a complete rip off of yours. 🙂 I am going to use Mary Bee’s Sweet Glaze though without alterations. Is it OK if I use the name and make a link back to this recipe?

     
    • flyfishbrat

      August 27, 2012 at 7:16 PM

      Hi Joe, absolutely you can blog Mary’s recipe and link back to my blog….Wow, Mary would have loved to hear someone other than family is using her recipe. Thank you for putting a smile on Mark’s face (her son). Enjoy.

       
    • flyfishbrat

      August 28, 2012 at 9:18 PM

      Oh Joe, that’s very nice of you to place a link to my blog. Seriously Mary Bee would love this.

       
  3. Joe Graff

    August 28, 2012 at 5:06 AM

    Thanks Teri, I just published it…

     

Leave a Reply

 
