RSS

Gramma’s Christmas Breakfast Potatoes

14 Jan

When I was little my grandparents would park their RV in our driveway on Christmas Eve so that they could be with us early Christmas morning to watch us open our gifts. After all the presents were opened my Gramma would make our family breakfast while my parents got ready for the day’s celebration. For me it was a wonderful thing to have them there with us and to have my Gramma cooking in our kitchen. I’m sure my parents appreciated the extra hand also. I watched her closely as she made her potatoes, which she told were her Special Christmas Potatoes. Through the years this recipe has become one of my son’s favorites. We call them Christmas potatoes, breakfast potatoes, dinner potatoes, shoot just plain delicious potatoes. It may be his favorite because they taste great, but I’m sure no matter how they turn out he loves them because of the stories I have shared with him about his Great Gramma making them for me and how that was something I looked forward to every year. It is a very comforting recipe for me, so I hope you all will enjoy them as much as my son, my boyfriend and I do.

Ingredients:   Serves 2 – 3 people

  • 2 potatoes, peeled, sliced, rinsed & drained
  • 4 slices of bacon, roughly chopped or cut
  • 1/2 onion, roughly diced
  • 2 T parsley, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced (if you love garlic add more)
  • garlic salt
  • ground black pepper

Over medium heat in a large skillet lightly crisp up the bacon. Season the potatoes with garlic salt and black pepper and toss them in with the bacon. Mix them well in the skillet. Fry this for about 5 minutes until the potatoes start to lightly brown. Add the onion, parsley and garlic to the skillet, toss a bit then cover the skillet. Lower the heat to medium-low and continue to cook about 10 minutes using a spatula periodically to flip the mixture until the potatoes are cooked thoroughly. They are now ready to serve, but if  you want the potatoes a little crisper, then uncover, turn the heat back up to medium and fry a bit longer until they suit you.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2012 in Breakfast, Vegetables

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Gramma’s Christmas Breakfast Potatoes

  1. seamepaint@yahoo.com

    January 14, 2012 at 1:51 PM

    ho funny I make some Sherrie loves smiler to yours i use backed potatoes cold slice fry my bacon crumble fry potatoes till golden brown for me I use onions # garlic Sherrie cant eat those yours sounds yummy LoV watching your cooking I bet u could do good with your own restraint keep trying for it .LoV Auntie Adara

     
    • flyfishbrat

      January 14, 2012 at 3:06 PM

      Thanks Aunt Adara, I seen quite a few different version of this also, especially out here since this area has a huge German community. Really cool that you are reading my blog. Love you too.

       

Leave a Reply

 
