RSS

Puffy Omelet with Spinach, Basil & Garlic

23 Jan
Puffy Omelet

Puffy Omelet

Yummy! A Puffy Omelet, this was my all time breakfast favorite growing up. During a conversation with my long time friend Karyne, I was Inspired to add spinach, basil and garlic to my mother’s recipe. Still my favorite way to eat eggs.

Ingredients: Serves 3-4 people

  • 6 eggs, separated
  • 1/2 cup fresh spinach, thinly shredded
  • 1/2 cup fresh basil, thinly sliced
  • 1 large clove of garlic, minced or 2 small ones
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 2 generous Tablespoons salted butter
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp ground black pepper
  • 12″ skillet that is able to go from the stove top to the oven (I use my cast iron skillet)

Preheat oven 350

Using a hand-held electric mixer, beat the egg whites until they are stiff. Beat the eggs yolks until they are thicken. To the yolks add milk, salt, pepper and beat just until mixed. Stir in the spinach, basil and garlic. Fold this egg yolk mixture into the beaten egg whites. Heat a 12″ skillet over medium-high heat, once it’s hot melt the butter. Pour the omelet into the hot buttery skillet. Reduce heat to low and cook slowly for 10 minutes until it’s brown underneath. (10 minutes seems to always work for me, but you know the characteristics of your stove and pans better than me, so check the bottom from color.)

Place the skillet in the oven and bake for 15-20 minutes until the top is lightly browned and when touched with your fingertips leaves no indent. Use a sharp knife and make a slight cut into the top, in the middle, going from one side to the other. This helps with the folding of the omelet. Using a rubber spatula, gently fold one half over the other. Slip onto a warm serving plate.

(….and yes I know I don’t hold my knife correctly, but I am a home cook, I’m careful and this position is comfortable and familiar to me)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 23, 2012 in Breakfast

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Puffy Omelet with Spinach, Basil & Garlic

  1. artisticmilestone

    January 27, 2013 at 4:40 AM

    Wow I’ve never seen an omelette this good and puffy, I can’t wait to try this one 🙂

     
    • flyfishbrat

      January 27, 2013 at 9:34 PM

      I love this type of omelet. My mother used to make them when I was a kid. Just my absolute favorite.

       

Leave a Reply

 
