RSS

Beef Enchiladas (Leftover Delights)

06 Feb

Well, Beef Enchiladas were requested for dinner on Super Bowl Sunday. A friend suggested that I make them ahead of time since I really didn’t want to be cooking during the game. But I procrastinated and didn’t get them assembled on Saturday.  Thanks to leftovers from my  “Beef Pot Roast” and frozen “Red Enchilada Sauce” it didn’t take anytime assembling this meal. This would be why I call them Leftover Delights.

Ingredients:

  • 1 dozen corn tortillas
  • Leftover “Beef Pot Roast”, shredded and chopped, see my recipe
  • 1 1/4 cups frozen “Red Enchilada Sauce” see my recipe
  • leftover partial can of green chilies
  • 1 can RoTel diced tomatoes, drained
  • 1 1/2 cup of a Mexican blend shredded cheese, plus a handful or so

Preheat oven to 350. Grease with butter or Pam spray a rectangle glass baking dish.

I placed the frozen “Beef Pot Roast” in the refrigerator late Saturday night to defrost slowly. I brought the “Red Enchilada Sauce” out to defrost at room temperature a few hours before I would need it. I had already shredded the leftover “Beef Pot Roast” when I froze it,  so all I had to do was give it a quick chopping. Mix into the meat green chilies, RoTel diced tomatoes and a handful or so of the Mexican blend cheese. (Leftover beef tends to become dry when frozen, so you need to add some moisture to the mix. I use the chilies and the tomatoes for this.)  Spread a couple of tablespoons of the Red Enchilada Sauce over the bottom of the baking dish. Soften the corn tortillas, I like to microwave them a little, but you can also warm them over a dry skillet on medium heat. Place a couple of tablespoons of the meat mixture off-center in the corn tortilla and firmly yet gently roll up in the baking dish. Once the dish is full, spread the sauce over the enchiladas, top with the 1 1/2 cups of the Mexican blend shredded cheese. Pop them in the oven and bake for 20-30 minutes. Since none of the ingredients are hot or warm the enchiladas may need a little more time to bake. They are done when the cheese is completely melted and bubbly.

Usually I garnish my enchiladas with green onions or black olives, but today we didn’t want to miss the half time show….so out of the oven, onto the plate and table they went….no garnish of any kind. I was lucky to even get a picture of them at this point…so there is no garnish in the picture, sorry.


 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 6, 2012 in Beef, Casseroles, Left-Over Delights

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Beef Enchiladas (Leftover Delights)

  1. Mark Thienes

    February 6, 2012 at 9:07 AM

    nothing like these. Your family will love you

     
    • flyfishbrat

      February 6, 2012 at 9:37 AM

      Hi there stranger, I am so glad you love my food. It makes cooking for you a complete pleasure.

       

Leave a Reply

 
