RSS

Brightening up jarred Spaghetti Sauce

07 Feb

I always have a couple jars of Paul Newman’s Tomato & Basil Spaghetti Sauce in the pantry just for nights like tonight. The afternoon got away from me and I found myself needing to start dinner without a clue of what I was going to make. I remembered I had “Stromboli Meat” and “Pesto Sauce” in the freezer and a jar of spaghetti sauce in the pantry. I knew I could brighten that sauce up just by adding a few other fresh ingredients. I thought I would share my tricks with you.

Ingredients:

  • 1 jar of spaghetti sauce
  • 3 cups “Stromboli Meat” frozen, see my recipe
  • 1/2 small onion, diced
  • 1 carrot, diced
  • 3 Tb “Pesto Sauce” frozen, see my recipe
  • 1/2 tsp fresh oregano, minced
  • 1 Tb butter
  • 1 Tb Olive Oil

Melt the butter in the Olive Oil in a large skillet over medium low heat. Saute the onions and carrots until they are soft. Add the pre-made Stromboli meat and cook until warmed with the onions and carrots. Stir in the jarred spaghetti sauce and simmer over medium low heat for about 5 minutes. Reduce the heat to low and stir in the oregano and pesto sauce until well blended, cover and continue to simmer for another 10 minutes.

Add cook pasta to the sauce, make a nice salad and serve with my yummy “Herb Drop Biscuits”

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Brightening up jarred Spaghetti Sauce

  1. Mark Thienes

    February 7, 2012 at 5:05 PM

    Great sauce and spaghetti

     

Leave a Reply

 
