RSS

Sorghum Gingerbread Cookies

10 Feb

My Daughter-in-Law told me these were her favorite cookies I sent for Christmas. She mentioned that they had a very mellow taste compared to other Gingerbread cookies she had eaten. I thought, well they tasted the same as I have had for years…but then we started looking over the recipe. Low and behold I can’t find Molasses out here so over the last 6 years I have been using “Sorghum” produced right here in Evansville, Indiana. Mark and I looked it up over the internet and found that in the southern states it is generally used instead of Molasses, probably why I couldn’t find molasses in the market. Sorghum has a lighter taste, not as harsh as Molasses, the answer to why my Gingerbread Cookies have a more mellow taste. Try my recipe, if you love gingerbread cookies like I do, these really are wonderful.

Ingredients:   yields about 5 dozen 2 1/2″ to 3″ inch cookies

  • 2 1/2 Tb shortening (I always use Crisco)
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 3/4 cup Sorghum (Of course mine is made right here in Evansville, Indiana)
  • 1/3 cup cold water
  • 3 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp allspice
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1/2 tsp cloves
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

In a large bowl mix the shortening, brown sugar and Sorghum thoroughly. Stir in the cold water until well blended. In another bowl sift the flour, baking soda, salt, allspice, ginger, cloves and cinnamon together. Stir the dry ingredients into the sticky ingredients. Divide the dough into 4 disc or balls, wrap in plastic cling wrap and refrigerate for at least 4 hours or overnight.

Preheat oven to 350 and line at least 2 cookie sheets with parchment paper, but 3 will work great.

On a light floured surface, take one disc of cookie dough and roll out to 1/4″ thickness. Use cookie cutter or a biscuit cutter to cut out cookies. Place on the cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and bake for 11 to 12 minutes. The cookies are baked when no imprint remains when you lightly touch the center of a cookie. Let the cookies cool for a couple of minutes on the cookie sheet, then transfer them to a wire rack to completely cool.

When they are completely cooled, ice them with this simple powered sugar icing.

  • 1 cup sifted powered sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla or my favorite lemon flavoring
  • 1 to 2 Tb Half & Half

Start off adding only 1 tablespoon of Half & Half to the ingredients, adding a little more each time until the desired consistency is met. If adding food coloring, add it before adding the Half & Half.

Tips: I have never been very successful baking cookies, but my luck has changed. My boyfriend is a great baker and has passed along some simple but great tips to me. #1 use at least 3 cookie sheets. This way they can cool before more dough is placed on them. #2 line the cookie sheets with parchment paper. This helps stop the dough from spreading. #3 give the oven 2 minutes to reheat between batches. If you are like me, you open the oven door to peak on the baking, so when you take a batch out, close the oven door, wait 2 minutes before putting the next batch in. Believe me it works, now when I set the timer for baking it’s actually accurate.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 10, 2012 in Cookies, Holidays

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Sorghum Gingerbread Cookies

  1. edinburg tx apartments

    February 13, 2012 at 6:15 AM

    Super post! Looking forward to reading more!

     

Leave a Reply

 
