RSS

Random Cooking Tips

03 Mar

Everyone that fly fishes will recognize the gentleman in the photo with me. But for those of you that have no idea who he is, let me introduce you to Lefty Kreh, one of the most famous and sweetest Fly Fishermen of all. I was honored to meet him at Trout Fest in Townsend Tennessee a couple of years ago.

Now here are some tips I found on the Food Network. Just love all the odds and ends you can learn from that channel. You will find that channel on the entire time I am doing my Thanksgiving Dinner prep. I’m not watching it, just listening to them, it’s so inspiring. I am always reminded that anyone can cook like them, even me and you.

Butterflying poultry lets it cook through quickly and evenly. To butterfly a chicken or turkey: put the bird breast side down on your cutting board. With a heavy chef’s knife or kitchen shears, cut out the backbone, then flip the bird over and press down with your hands to flatten. (Or do as I do and buy it already butterflied or ask the butcher to do this for you.)

Chili too spicy? Dilute it with water; or simmer a whole, peeled potato in it; or serve it with a nice tall glass of milk and hope for the best. Remember that it’s always easier to add heat than take it away, so start slow till you know what works for you. I’ve tried the potato trick when I over salted soup before, it worked great. Then I just froze the potatoes that had absorbed all that salt, believe me it was salty so I had quite a few potatoes used. I froze the potatoes and used them later for mashed potatoes. It worked great for both.

Check the seasoning – When you’re making hamburgers, meatballs, or homemade sausage check the seasoning by pan-frying a small patty of the meat. I have used this tip a lot while trying to document my recipes for this blog. Before I would just eyeball everything, most of the time they were great, but a few times the taste wasn’t what I planned for.

Give them time to mellow – When you’re making dip or salsa, give them time to mellow. Most dip and salsa taste much better after being given a change to mellow out in the fridge for a few hours. Place a piece of plastic wrap directly on the surface of the dip and let it sit for a while in the fridge before serving. If you don’t place the plastic wrap directly on the surface condensation will form, that may not hurt your dip or salsa, but it can’t help either.

Searing or Grilling Meat – When searing or grilling meat, don’t move it. If you have to pry it from the pan or grill grate, it’s not ready yet. Once it develops a nice crust, it will release from the pan on its own. I have to admit this lesson was a hard one for me to learn. But once I gave in all searing and grilling in our house has been successful. I have also found this lesson has help me fry the perfect fried egg for breakfast.


Well that’s it for me today, hope everyone has a wonderful weekend. I know we will. After the last couple of days and all of the tornadoes it will be so nice to putter around the house doing chores and not have the fear of a terrible storm on my mind. Please keep all those people who weren’t as lucky as us during those storms in your thoughts as you enjoy your weekend. See everyone on Monday. Enjoy your eats this weekend.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 3, 2012 in Tips

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Random Cooking Tips

  1. miss p

    March 5, 2012 at 11:34 AM

    Reblogged this on A FRESH START.

     
    • flyfishbrat

      March 5, 2012 at 8:07 PM

      Miss P, thank you so much for reblogging my post “Random Cooking Tips” I appreciate it very much. I love your blog, I love the references to Iran. I was had the wonderful experience of visting Tabriz and just feel in love with all of the people I met. I found when returning I had developed a love affair with the food. That was over 20 years ago, I raised my son with the same passion I had for the Persian history, culture and cuisine. Needless to say your blog is a daily reminder of the hospitality I felt while in Tabriz.

       
      • miss p

        March 5, 2012 at 8:53 PM

        oh thank you….very kind…. and I love your food ideas.

         

Leave a Reply

 
