RSS

Deviled Eggs from the Real Mom Kitchen Blog

04 Apr

This is not my recipe, nor have I tried it as of yet, but I plan to. I found this on Pinterest and just loved the idea and knew I wanted to share it with Easter approaching. All the credit goes to the “Real Mom Kitchen” Blog. So here it is, my first re-blog….but I really think it’s a great idea to change up the ordinary way we display Deviled Eggs. I hope you all will enjoy it.

I just used regular old food coloring from the grocery store baking isle.  I did however select to use the neon variety.  You just remove the shell from your hard boiled egg, cut each egg in half, and remove the yolk and reserve for later.  Then you dye the whites of the eggs just like you would when you dye and egg with it’s shell on.

Some colors take longer than others to achieve the level of darkness that you want.  I used pink, purple, and turquoise.  The turquoise took the least amount of time to get the intensity that I wanted.  Both the pink and purple took some time.  I found this to be a fun way to dye eggs and bring some color to your Easter dinner.

Easter Deviled Eggs
4.0 from 1 reviews
Print
Ingredients
  • 10 hard boiled eggs
  • food coloring
  • 1 tsp vinegar for each color you are using
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise or Miracle Whip or half of each (I use Miracle Whip)
Instructions
  1. Remove the shells from the hard boiled eggs and slice each egg in half.
  2. Remove the yolks from the egg halves and place in a bowl. Set the yolks aside.
  3. Get enough glasses or mugs for the number of colors you want to use. Fill the mugs or glasses 2/3 of the way full with cold water.
  4. Add 3 drops of desired food coloring along with 1 tsp vinegar to each mug or cup.
  5. Place egg whites in the mugs and allow to sit in the food coloring until desired color is reached. I could fit 3 egg whites in each of my mugs at a time.
  6. Remove whites from dye and drain on a plate lined with a couple of paper towels.
  7. Take the reserved yolks and mash them with a fork. Then mix in the 1/2 cup mayonnaise with the mashed yolk.
  8. Pipe or spoon the yolk mix into the colored egg whites. Makes 20 deviled egg halves.
Google Recipe View Microformatting by Easy Recipe

Adapted from Foodjimoto.

Laura

http://realmomkitchen.com/10823/easter-deviled-eggs/

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 4, 2012 in Snacks

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Deviled Eggs from the Real Mom Kitchen Blog

  1. Jim Block

    April 4, 2012 at 1:57 PM

    I put yellow mustard, horse radish sandwich spread, and fine ground black pepper in my yolk mixture, along with fine chopped sweet pickles…..really gives it a punch

     
    • flyfishbrat

      April 4, 2012 at 6:38 PM

      Thanks Jim, I also don’t make the deviled eggs like her recipe, but I love the way she colored the whites. They will look so pretty for Easter. Your recipe is very similar to mine. I use horseradish mustard, mayonnaise, pepper, relish and green onions.

       

Leave a Reply

 
