RSS

Shredded Beef (Beef Carnitas) in a Crockpot

04 May

Ingredients:     Serves 4-6 people

  • 2 to 2 1/2 pound Chuck Roast
  • all meat seasoning (or use salt and pepper, Paleo followers omit the salt)
  • 2 Tb Mexican Oregano, ground
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2 cloves garlic, halved
  • 1/2 yellow onion, sliced
  • 1 cup chicken stock
  • 2 Tb fresh Cilantro, chopped

Season the roast with the all meat seasoning, Mexican Oregano, cumin and cayenne pepper, place in a zip lock baggy and marinate in the refrigerator overnight.

The next morning place the marinated seasoned roast in the crockpot. Stud the beef with the 4 halved garlic cloves. Toss in the sliced onion, top that off with the chicken stock and Cilantro. Cook on the low setting for the entire day, 8-10 hours. (It may look like it is burnt and hard visually, but you’ll be surprised when you touch the meat, it just falls apart.) Use 2 forks to shred and now it’s ready for use in shredded beef tacos or burritos.

Suggestions: I love to use the leftovers in “Beef Carnitas Enchiladas”.

Note: I seem to always use chicken stock when cooking beef or pork, I feel like it adds a mild flavor to the meat. For some reason I’m not a big fan of beef stock, but if you are, please feel free to substitute with it.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 4, 2012 in Beef, Paleo recipes

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Shredded Beef (Beef Carnitas) in a Crockpot

  1. Fun Dessert Recipes For Kids

    May 9, 2012 at 2:25 PM

    I have been exploring for a little bit for any high quality articles or blog posts on this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon this web site. Studying this information So i’m glad to exhibit that I’ve a very excellent uncanny feeling I discovered just what I needed. I such a lot surely will make certain to do not forget this site and provides it a look on a constant basis.

     
    • flyfishbrat

      May 9, 2012 at 7:15 PM

      Thank you so much for the compliment. I hope you will continue to follow my blog.

       
  2. Morgan

    August 28, 2012 at 7:10 PM

    Thanks for posting your recipe. I’m making it tomorrow for dinner and can’t wait to see how it turns out!

     
    • flyfishbrat

      August 28, 2012 at 9:23 PM

      You are so welcome Morgan. I make this recipe at least twice a month. It’s all about ease and flavors. In fact I made it a week ago for family and found a 3 pound roast yielded 36 enchiladas. Good luck and happy eating.

       

Leave a Reply

 
