RSS

Toad in a Hole

08 May

Toad in a Hole

Toad in a Hole

I was inspired by an episode of “Diners, Drive-ins & Dives” for this recipe. I had never seen such a thing before that, but later found that many people had been eating eggs this way their entire lives. We enjoyed breakfast thoroughly on this day.

Ingredients:   Serves 2 to 4 people

  • 4 slices of beer bread (try one of my recipes found in this blog under “breads”)
  • 4 eggs
  • 3 Tb salted butter
  • Parmesan cheese, shredded (optional)

Cut a hole in the center of each slice of the beer bread. I used a small old fashion juice glass, it was the perfect size. Set aside the hole piece. In a large size skillet melt the butter over medium heat. Place the beer bread slices in the skillet, crack an egg into the hole of each slice. Fry until the egg is well set in the center, flip and fry the other side for about 3 minutes, until the eggs are fully cooked. Sprinkle with the Parmesan cheese and serve hot.

Suggestions: I also fried the hole pieces and served them along with the “Toad in the Hole” Try using any of my beer bread recipes. We have enjoyed my Pesto Beer Bread recipe the most with this.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 8, 2012 in Breakfast

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Toad in a Hole

  1. howsmallatrout5

    May 8, 2012 at 8:28 AM

    It’d be awesome to come home, ask my wife what’s for dinner, and have her respond “toad in a hole.”

     
  2. Joseph A Graff

    May 8, 2012 at 8:41 AM

    One of the few (very few) dishes my dad ever made was this one. He called it, “Eggs with a Hole in the Middle”. 🙂

     
    • flyfishbrat

      May 8, 2012 at 8:44 AM

      As I asked my friends if they had ever heard of frying eggs this way many of them replied it was also one of the few dishes their Dads had made for them….so I ponder what was up with my Dad not sharing this secret Dad recipe with me….my family had never experienced this.

       
  3. Joseph A Graff

    May 9, 2012 at 10:55 AM

    I was thinking the Brits call it “eggs in a basket” and searched. Look what I found! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Egg_in_the_basket

     
    • flyfishbrat

      May 9, 2012 at 11:57 AM

      Now that was really cool Joseph….thanks for the info.

       

Leave a Reply

 
