RSS

Happy Mother’s Day Weekend!

12 May

Well it’s the end of another week and the weekend is just starting. We have big plans, yes indeedy big plans. Heading over the bridge to Kentucky to spend some time at the Owensboro BBQ Festival.  Which for me, being a transplant from Southern California, is a bit different then what I would imagine. Down in Kentucky the chicken, pork, mutton and maybe some beef has been on the smokers for at least 24 hours if not more.  (Now that’s not what I know as BBQing, but it is out of this world fabulous) I can’t wait, you can smell the deliciousness from miles around. We’ll eat our fair share and probably bring back home more than we should or need.

I’ve made a few wonderful and edible items myself this last week and have some delightful recipes to share next week with everyone. Also this week we were introduced to an addition to our home. A mommy grey squirrel brought her 2 babies up to eat peanuts for the first time. Happy Mother’s Day to her.  I named then Riff & Raff.  Also my flower gardens are entering into full bloom and they are just beautiful. I was completely surprised to receive a box of Shari’s Berries, chocolate covered strawberries, from my Son for Mother’s Day. Attached was a card that melted my heart. I am still so smitten with my baby boy. (Okay my now grown and married Son)

I hope all of you Mom’s get to spend time or speak to your children over this weekend of celebration. They are our most prized contribution to the world.  I hope all of you will celebrate by enjoying some Good Ole Home Cooking as we are planning to do. Have a wonderful Sunday.

Hickory Smoked Pork Butt

Pepper & Onion Cheesy Bread

Very Berry Organic Ice Cream

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
