RSS

Organic Smoothies in the morning?

23 May

I have been so inspired by my friend, Lisa, who leads a Paleo lifestyle. She is a true inspiration for how I can change my health even in my 50s. (She’s not in her fifties, just good ole me) So, last week I decided Mark and I would try adding organic smoothies to our breakfast. I used a base of ingredients then added different fruits every morning. At first I thought well how am I going to make these I don’t have a juicer. Then I thought, hey I will use my blender. Then I remembered we had a smoothie machine…and that is the tool I use. It works great, as it chops, mixes and blends everything. So not only do I have the juice of everything but also the pulp has been blended into the smoothie.

Strawberries & Oranges

Blackberries, Blueberries & Raspberries

Papaya & Pineapple

Apple & Pear

Now don’t be thrown off by the green colors. It must be the spinach and parsley. Only the berry combination produced a different color.

The base ingredients I use in every smoothie are:

About 1 cup of Coconut Milk, a handful of Spinach, about 1/2 cup of Parsley, 2 Carrots chopped, 1 Banana and a really good squeeze of Honey.

Then I added different combinations of fruit:

1st –  Apple  & Pear, peeled and cored     2nd – Papaya peeled & Pineapple (this was my favorite)

3rd – Blackberries, Blueberries & Raspberries    4th – Strawberries & Oranges peeled

We generally drink a small glass of bottled fruit juice with breakfast, but no more. If you follow my recipe blog you see that we really eat breakfast, no skimping here. But we have enjoyed these morning smoothies so much that we will continue to add them to each and every breakfast. They are so much more tasty and enjoyable than their store-bought counter-parts that we now drink a large glass of these fruit and vegetable smoothies with every breakfast. I’m thinking at the end of summer when our vegetables are ready for harvest I will experiment with all vegetable smoothies. Thank you Lisa, you are a wonderful inspiration to me.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
