RSS

Hush Puppies

07 Jun

Hush Puppies

These little fried balls of deliciousness are one of the first loves I found here in South West Indiana. I just had to learn how to make them. This recipe is an adapted recipe from “The Loveless Cafe” in Nashville, Tennessee. If you are craving a little bit of southern goodness, this will do the trick.

Ingredients:  4 to 6 servings

  • 2 cups cornmeal
  • 2 Tb flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 3/4 onion, grated
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 6 egg whites
  • vegetable oil

Combine the cornmeal, flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and black pepper. Add the grated onion, garlic and green onions and toss until well coated. Blend the egg yolk and buttermilk into the mixture and mix until a batter is formed. With an electric mixer, beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form then fold the egg whites into the batter. Chill in the refrigerator for about 20 minutes.

Heat the vegetable oil in a medium skillet over medium heat. Make sure you have about 1/4″ inch in depth of vegetable oil. Drop the batter by the tablespoonful into the hot oil. When side one is golden brown, flip them over and fry until side two is golden brown. This only takes a few minutes. Place on a plate lined with a paper towel to absorb the oil residue.

Suggestions: Serve these with absolutely anything, fried catfish, chicken, pork, at a BBQ or even for breakfast with maple syrup.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 7, 2012 in Breads, Snacks

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Hush Puppies

  1. Adara Osborn

    June 8, 2012 at 8:37 PM

    Hey Girl do u cook this way all the time realy tonight I had a pizza not home made as I was working real hard making a neckless U know playing is so hard hheeee realy pooped Lov Auntie

     
    • flyfishbrat

      June 8, 2012 at 9:14 PM

      Hi Aunt Adara, we also had pizza at our favorite pizza place out here. Yes I cook like this every day, we have to eat don’t we? I started this blog to chronicle my recipes as I make them on a daily basis. Now it’s become an obsession that I completely enjoy. I had never written my recipes down, just all in my head, so this blog helps me determine measurements and document them in a fun way. Glad you continue to follow me, I love you, your niece Teri Lynne

       

Leave a Reply

 
