RSS

My Mother’s Easy Summer Macaroni Salad

15 Jun

My mother’s macaroni salad is one of her recipes that I completely love and enjoy making to this very day. It is simple and gently flavorful. I remember learning this recipe at a very young age and making it during the summers of my youth for many of our family and friends at our backyard barbecues.

Ingredients:  4 to 6 servings

  • 2 cups Ditalini Pasta, (ring macaroni or salad pasta)
  • 1 cup cheddar cheese, finely diced
  • 1/2 cup red onion, finely diced
  • 1/2 cup sweet pickles (gherkins), finely diced
  • 1 carrot, finely diced
  • 1 celery stick, finely diced
  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup mayonnaise
  • salt and black pepper to taste

Prepare your Ditalini Pasta as per instructions on the packaging. When finished boiling, using a strainer drain and rinse with cold water. Place the strainer containing the pasta over a large bowl, cover with plastic cling wrap and refrigerate for about 1 hour to cool the pasta completely.

After the pasta has cooled, in a large bowl combine all the ingredients except the mayonnaise, salt and pepper. Mix thoroughly then add a 1/2 cup of mayonnaise, blend well. If needed add the additional 1/4 cup of mayonnaise and blend again. Season with the salt and black pepper to suit your taste. Refrigerate for a couple of hours so that all of the flavors have time to blend.

Suggestions: Sometimes I mix up my cheeses. I always include cheddar cheese just sometimes its sharp cheddar cheese. I also like to take a look in the fridge and add cheeses that I may have in there like Provolone or Colby Jack. I have also added finely diced ham to this recipe without any complaints.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on June 15, 2012 in Salads, Sandwiches, Spreads

 

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “My Mother’s Easy Summer Macaroni Salad

  1. trkingmomoe

    June 15, 2012 at 6:14 PM

    Macaroni salad was always a summer dish with hot dogs or a sandwich on a hot day. I like your simple recipe of easy to find ingredients. Thanks for sharing.

     
    • flyfishbrat

      June 15, 2012 at 7:43 PM

      Glad you like it. My mother was a no fuss type of cook.

       
  2. Laurie Murphy

    June 15, 2012 at 7:14 PM

    Oh Yes I remember!!! Yum Yum

     
    • flyfishbrat

      June 15, 2012 at 7:42 PM

      Ahh…glad you remember, it’s my favorite.

       
  3. Meggie

    June 16, 2012 at 2:23 PM

    Sounds delicious, perfect for summer’s picnics. But where is the garlic….., haha!

     
    • flyfishbrat

      June 16, 2012 at 5:28 PM

      Hi Meggie, garlic is wonderful in this recipe…but my mother rarely cooked with garlic….go figure, how could I be her daughter with all of the garlic I use.

       
  4. Miss M

    June 18, 2012 at 11:51 AM

    yummy….except I may have to leave the sweet pickles out…

     
    • flyfishbrat

      June 18, 2012 at 8:32 PM

      Hi Miss M, I have found that this recipe is a great base to start with and tweak with all the ingredients you enjoy. Can’t wait to see what you come up with.

       
      • Miss M

        June 19, 2012 at 10:37 AM

        Thanks!!! I love macaroni anything….sort of a pasta freak which is why I have the tummy to show for it

         

Leave a Reply

 
