RSS

Can you remember the apron? Do your children know of the kitchen apron?

23 Jun

This little diddy was found on a table card in one of my favorite restaurants here in Evansville Indiana. The St. Joe Tavern is known for its fried chicken, where you are bound to find a wait to get a table in this 50 person joint.

The apron was good for many, many purposes.

I don’t think our kids know what an apron is. The principal use of Great Grandma’s apron was to protect the dress underneath. Because she only had a few, it was easier to wash aprons than dresses and they used less material, but along with that, it served as a potholder for removing hot pans from the oven.

It was wonderful for drying children’s tears, and on occasion was even used for cleaning out dirty ears. From the chicken coops, the apron was used for carrying eggs, fussy chicks, and sometimes half-hatched eggs to be finished in the warming oven.

When company came, those aprons were an ideal hiding place for shy kids. and when the weather was cold, Grandma wrapped it around her arms.

Those big old aprons wiped many a perspiring brow, bent over the hot wood stove.

Chips and kindling wood were brought into the kitchen in that apron.

From the garden, it carried all sorts of vegetables. After the peas had been shelled, it carried out the hulls.

In the fall, the apron was used to bring in apples that had fallen from the trees.

When unexpected company drove up the road, it was surprising how much furniture that old apron could dust is a matter of seconds.

When dinner was ready, Grandma walked out onto the porch, waved her apron, and the men knew it was time to come in from the fields to dinner.

It will be a long time before someone invents something that will replace that ‘old-time apron that served so many purposes.

REMEMBER: My generation’s Great-Grandmas used to set their hot baked apple pies on the window sill to cool. Grandma had air condition and was able to let her pies cool inside. My mother’s generation was busy working outside of the home to bake a homemade apple pie, my generation of women generally use ready-made pie crust and our daughters and great grand-daughters set theirs on the counter to thaw.  This generation would go crazy trying to figure out how many germs were on my Great Grandma and Grandma’s apron.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 23, 2012 in Places to eat, Tips, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Can you remember the apron? Do your children know of the kitchen apron?

  1. Adara Osborn

    June 23, 2012 at 9:06 PM

    I’m much older then U/ but I do rermber My Grandma wering her appron all the time and such a wonderful cook my Mother also was a wonderful cook it sure did not get passed down to me but my Sister was also a wonderful cook but I can paint hee hee thanks for all your wonderful recipes love this storey Auntie Adarahj

     
  2. Meggie

    June 25, 2012 at 5:09 AM

    Lovely reading! I actually have two of them, and wear them now and then, which suddenly made me feel very old. They always come in handy when you’re having guests over for a meal and you’re already dressed up but still have to do some last fixing with the dishes. You don’t want to get stains and splashes all over your newly purchased $ 200-blouse or what ever, do you? So, more aprons to the world!

    All the best
    /M.

     
    • flyfishbrat

      June 25, 2012 at 8:19 PM

      I enjoyed your comment, you can bet I will be collecting and using more aprons from now on.

       
  3. The Orange Bee

    June 27, 2012 at 6:55 AM

    I have a few aprons that belonged to my grandmother and a couple of her sisters, my great aunts. They are wonderful to look at. I wear aprons all the time and my girls do too as we understand the many purposes they hold. Great post – I enjoyed it. I’ve been planning on hanging mine all up on a line and photographing them to write a post about – you beat me to it but I’m still going to do it later this summer. Thanks for visiting the Orange Bee.

     
    • flyfishbrat

      June 27, 2012 at 8:35 PM

      Glad you enjoyed the apron post Orange Bee. I can’t wait to see all of your aprons and so excited that you and your girls have them and use them. It’s time for me to start getting some of my own.

       

Leave a Reply

 
