RSS

Sweet & Sour Barbecue Sauce

24 Jul

Sweet & Sour Barbecue Sauce

This sweet and sour barbecue sauce is fantastic served with my recipes for “Spicy Smoked Chicken” or “Chipotle Smoked Pork Shoulder, still to be posted”. It has a great cooling compliment to the heat of the chicken and pork.

Ingredients:

  • 1 fresh mango, peeled and cubed
  • 1 fresh peach, peeled and cubed
  • 2 cups fresh pineapple, cubed
  • 1 cup of a vinegar based, thin BBQ Sauce

In a food processor combine all of the ingredients and puree until smooth. You can store in a container in the refrigerator if using later or place the mixture in a small pot and heat over low heat until warm. Serve warm.

Suggestions: This sauce also works well as a marinade or try mixing a little with white rice for a sweet and sour taste. (I am very lucky as Mark’s Brother-in-Law gives me a gallon of his homemade BBQ sauce every year. I used that as my BBQ base. If I am ever lucky enough to be given the recipe I will definitely share it with everyone.)


 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Sweet & Sour Barbecue Sauce

  1. cookingwithcorinna

    July 25, 2012 at 3:08 AM

    This looks like a really healthy version of sweet & sour sauce. I usually end up using sugar and honey in mine for the sweetness but I’ll definitely give this one a try.

     
    • flyfishbrat

      July 25, 2012 at 6:39 AM

      Thanks CookingwithCorinna. When summer hits I’ve got to use the bounty of fruit. It’s everywhere right now.

       
  2. amy@afternoonpopcornsnack

    July 25, 2012 at 6:04 AM

    This sounds so yum! I wonder if you could use it as a dipping sauce as well? I’m planning to purchase some fresh from the orchard peaches this week so I’ll have to try it!

     
    • flyfishbrat

      July 25, 2012 at 6:41 AM

      Thanks Amy@afternoonpopcornsnack. Oh wow, never even thought about using it as a dipping sauce. I can admit that it tasted wonderful off of my fingers though. I would imagine it would work just fine as long as you used it the same day you made it. Just thinking the fruit wouldn’t keep to long over a few days.

       

Leave a Reply

 
