RSS

Peach Pielettes with a Whole Wheat Pie Crust

25 Jul

Peach Pielettes

I just love peach season. I love peach pie. I love pie crust. This way of making a peach pie is perfect for the pie crust lover. You get equal part pie crust to pie filling with every bite. On top of that when your baking for only two people this is the best of both worlds. Peach pie for dessert and little individual pies leftover for breakfast the next morning. I use to bake pies in my youth, but that was years ago. So I went searching for a pie crust recipe that sounded easy yet flavorful. I found it in the Food Network Magazine and that’s the recipe I will be posting here for the pie crust. The filling, well that’s from me, easy, simple and delicious.

Pie Crust Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting
  • 1 Tb sugar
  • 2 tsp white vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 10 Tb unsalted butter, cut into small pieces and cold

Peach Pie Filling Ingredients:

  • 4 fresh tree-ripened peaches, peeled and cubed
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 Tb cornstarch
  • 1/8 tsp salt

This recipes makes 6 pielettes in a muffin tin.

To make the dough: Using a food processor pulse the whole-wheat flour, all-purpose flour, sugar, vinegar, salt and about 1/3 of the butter until the butter is incorporated. Add the remaining butter and pulse until it is in pea-size pieces. Add 2 tablespoons of ice water and pulse until the dough just comes together. Pinch a small piece of the dough: If it doesn’t hold together, add up to 2 more tablespoons of ice water, pulsing, 1 tablespoon at a time. Turn the dough out onto a large piece of plastic wrap and press into a rectangle. Pat to 1/2 inch thickness and wrap tightly. Refrigerate until firm, at least 1 hour.

Roll the dough into a rectangle to be able to cut at least 4 circles at 6 inches in diameter. Tip: I loved the Food Network’s suggested method of rolling the dough out. Place the cold dough between 2 pieces of parchment paper that have been slightly dusted with flour and roll that way. Now if you are able to roll the dough out so that you can get 6 circles cut out all at the same time good for you, I couldn’t so I cut out 4 then re-rolled the dough and cut out the remaining 2. Gently put the dough circles in the muffin tins.

Preheat your oven to 425. No greasing of the muffin tin necessary.

For the filling: Combine all ingredients and mix well. Spoon the filling into the crust in the muffin tins. Mound the filling higher than the crust edges. Bake for 10 minutes at 425 then lower the temperature to 350 and bake another 20 minutes.

Tip: I use a vegetable peeler to peel the skin off of my peaches. It works so easily in getting this job done.

Suggestions: I haven’t tried this yet, but I’m thinking it would work really well baking them in individual ramekins. I did have trouble with a couple of the pielettes releasing from the muffin tin as the peach juice sealed the crust onto the tin top. So…if any of you have suggestions on how I could avoid that problem, please let me know. These pielettes were so cute and delicious that I hate to change anything.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 25, 2012 in Breakfast, Desserts

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Peach Pielettes with a Whole Wheat Pie Crust

  1. Mark Thienes

    July 26, 2012 at 7:14 AM

    These are fantastic

     
  2. Meggie

    July 26, 2012 at 12:13 PM

    Teri, they look and sound delicious!

     

Leave a Reply

 
