RSS

Shrimp with Summer Squash & Garlic Sauce

26 Jul

Shrimp with a Summer Squash & Garlic Sauce

Until I started blogging my daily recipes I rarely measured anything. Not sure where I learned to cook this way, but I have to say I have missed the freedom of just adding ingredients without measuring and documenting. I know it’s hard to duplicate a recipe without guidelines, but hey that’s all part of the fun of cooking. Here’s a recipe thrown together after work just like I cooked before starting my blog.

Ingredients:

  • 12 ounces jumbo shrimp, peeled, deveined, tails removed
  • 1 summer yellow squash, peeled, thinly sliced
  • 3 or 4 green onions, sliced
  • 3 to 5 cloves of garlic, minced
  • a couple of tablespoons of Olive Oil
  • probably 4 to 5 tablespoons of unsalted butter
  • cracked black pepper
  • garlic salt
  • 1 vine ripened tomato, cubed

Put your sliced summer squash in a bowl and sprinkle with some garlic salt. Toss well. Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Add the Olive oil then melt the butter into the oil. Add the squash, season with cracked black pepper and saute for about 5 minutes or more, tossing frequently. Add the green onions and garlic, saute for another minute or so then add the shrimp. Saute all together again stirring frequently. The shrimp is fully cooked when it turns bright white and pink. Throw in the tomato and serve. The squash breaks down into a wonderful sauce.

Suggestions: Try serving this shrimp over rice or egg noodles.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Shrimp with Summer Squash & Garlic Sauce

  1. trkingmomoe

    July 27, 2012 at 11:35 AM

    I learned the same way. I made ham salad this morning and didn’t measure a thing. Now I have to rethink it all so I can post it. LOL I guess that is the art part of cooking. The science comes in when we bake. I enjoy reading your recipes.

     
    • flyfishbrat

      July 27, 2012 at 8:22 PM

      Thanks “trkingmomoe” I’m glad you enjoy my recipes. Cooking is my stress reliever and I love it so.

       

Leave a Reply

 
