RSS

Crispy Potato Roast

08 Aug

Crispy Potato Roast

I found a photo of a “Crispy Potato Roast” but couldn’t find the recipe. After searching I found it and wouldn’t you know, the original recipe is from none other than “Martha Stewart”. Well her recipe called for 4 pounds of potatoes to feed 8 people and there’s just Mark and I here at home. So I had to adjust for the reduction. And then of course I had to adjust for the flavors I enjoy with potatoes. I hope you all will try this recipe or the original as it is truly simple and taste fantastic.

Ingredients:  Serves 2-4 people

  • 4 regular size Russet potatoes, peeled and thinly sliced. (I just used my knife, not hard to do at all)
  • 3 Tb unsalted butter, melted
  • 3 Tb Olive Oil
  • 1 small red onion, finely diced
  • 2 slices bacon, cut into thin lardons then finely diced (I freeze my bacon to make cutting easier)
  • 1 packet of dry Hidden Valley Ranch Dip Mix

Preheat oven to 375.

In a large bowl I combined the potato slices, onion and 1/3 of the diced bacon. Combine the melted butter and Olive oil and drizzle about 1/3 of it over the potatoes. Sprinkle the potatoes with the dry ranch dressing mix and then toss everything together.

(To select an appropriate sized baking dish I recommend placing the unsliced potatoes in different size dishes. The dish that is the snuggest will work great. Any type of baking dish or skillet will work. I have to admit I realized this after selecting a baking dish. But next time, that’s what I am going to do.)

Brush your baking dish with some of the melted butter and olive oil.  Now like stacking cards, gather your potato slices and place them vertically in the dish. Place any remaining onion mixture and the remaining diced bacon on top of the potatoes in the baking dish. Drizzle the remaining butter/oil mixture a top of that and bake for 1 hour and 45 minutes until cooked thoroughly and crisply browned on top.

Suggestions: There really is no need for a mandolin to slice the potatoes, a knife works just fine. I found that tossing the potatoes with everything was much easier than trying to stuff between each and every slice once in the baking dish. I achieved a wonderful flavor yet not as much work needed. You really do need to follow the amount of time to bake. Whether you are using less or more potatoes, they still need the full 1 hour and 45 minutes to bake. It’s worth the wait.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 8, 2012 in Casseroles, Vegetables

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Crispy Potato Roast

  1. trkingmomoe

    August 12, 2012 at 2:25 PM

    I was needing a new recipe for potatoes. Thanks for sharing.

     
    • flyfishbrat

      August 12, 2012 at 3:04 PM

      You are welcome “trkingmomoe” but thank Miss Martha, it’s a great recipe and fabulous way to present potatoes.

       

Leave a Reply

 
