RSS

Potato Pepper Scramble (Leftover Delight)

19 Aug

Potato Pepper Scramble

I’ve been enjoying the company of my cousin and her family over the last week so I have neglected my recipe blog, Sorry. Not that I haven’t been cooking, just haven’t been documenting, photographing and writing. Some times there are more important things in life and family time is one of them. Cooking for my loved ones is just the best way I can imagine to show them how much I love them…so just think how much I was cooking. We had the best time together.

With them leaving last night, the house was quiet this morning and now I only needed to get breakfast together for Mark and I, rather than for a group. What to make, what to make? There’s leftovers in the refrigerator so it should be easy, and it was. Here is our breakfast this morning, a Leftover Delight.

Ingredients:

  • 2 slices of bacon, diced
  • 1/4 of a red bell pepper and a green bell pepper, diced, leftovers
  • maybe a cup, cup in a half of leftover roasted potatoes
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 3 eggs

Heat a 10″ skillet over medium heat and fry the bacon pieces until slightly browned. Add the bell peppers and saute with the bacon until just softened. Toss in the potatoes and garlic and to stir until the potatoes are reheated well. Lower the heat to medium low and crack the 3 eggs over the mixture. (I guess the safe way to do this would be to cracked one egg in a bowl to make sure it’s good then slip it in the skillet over the mixture, but I don’t use that method when cooking in my kitchen) Cover the skillet with a lid and continue to cook for about 15 minutes. When done you will find the eggs look somewhat raw, but when touch tested they are thoroughly cooked.

Serving Suggestions: Add a bit of hot sauce or leftover salsa and what a delicious breakfast you will have.

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Potato Pepper Scramble (Leftover Delight)

  1. Dee Block

    August 19, 2012 at 4:14 PM

    Terry our basil plants are going like crazy I’m harvesting about once a week please come down and get whatever and whenever you need some have probably already chopped and frozen more than we need but I am going to try to make some pesto got a recipe from a friend who uses it alot sooooo can’t freeze enough I’ll probably have enough for both our households for the winter Dee from down the street as opposed to vats dfdts vats Virginia from across the street

     
    • flyfishbrat

      August 19, 2012 at 5:41 PM

      Oh Dee, I would love some basil. Thank you so much. Mark’s little squirrel friend has eaten all of mine. I’m sure he enjoyed it, both of them, but that leaves nothing for my freezer. LOL. I’ll come down in a couple of days, I’ll let you know before I head down. Thank you again so much.

       

Leave a Reply

 
