RSS

Old Fashion Potato Salad

27 Aug

Old Fashion Potato Salad

This recipe is an adaption of an old Betty Crocker’s recipe for Potato Salad. Old school style. I wish I had a better photograph but we had lost power during the afternoon so by the time it came back on we had eaten our supper and I was putting the leftovers away. Enjoy this easy recipe, just some good ole home cooking from my kitchen.

Ingredients:   4-6 servings

  • 9 Yukon potatoes (yellow), peeled and quartered
  • 2 hard-boiled eggs, diced
  • 1/4 of a sweet onion, diced
  • 2 stalks celery, finely diced
  • 1/2 cup carrots, finely diced
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup french dressing (see my recipe for Homemade French Dressing)
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise

In medium sauce pan steam your quartered potatoes. I usually place the potatoes in the steamer basket that sits above the sauce pan filled with cold water. Cover and bring the water to a boil, then reduce the heat to medium and continue to steam for about 20 minutes. You’ll know the potatoes are done when they are easily pierced with a fork. Cool the steamed potatoes in the refrigerator.

Roughly dice the cooled potatoes in large pieces then combine in a large bowl with the remaining ingredients. Toss well to ensure everything is mixed thoroughly. Chill in the refrigerator for at least 1 hour. Season with more french dressing before serving if desired.

Suggestions: Do you really want to go old school? Cover a serving platter with lettuce leaves, spoon the potato salad a top of them, then line the platter with sliced cucumbers and tomatoes. Sprinkle the potato salad with a little paprika and cracked black pepper. Now you have an old school presentation of a wonderfully simple potato salad.

 
 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Old Fashion Potato Salad

  1. Joe Graff

    August 28, 2012 at 5:25 AM

    Now when you see me posting my mother’s potato salad recipe in the new few days, I want to point out that I took the pictures two weeks ago when I was in Utah with her for a week. I’m not tracking your recipes on purpose! (And her recipe must have started out from Betty Crocker too as it’s very similar to this one.)

     
    • flyfishbrat

      August 28, 2012 at 9:20 PM

      LOL…no problems Joe, this one is based on a old recipe I have from Betty and I had always tweaked it a bit, so I wouldn’t be surprised to find many others with very similar recipes.

       

Leave a Reply

 
