RSS

Hard Boiled Eggs

28 Aug

Hard Boiled Eggs

With Labor Day approaching I am surprised how many times I am asked how to hard boil eggs. But not surprised with how many different methods people use to achieve them. This is how I was taught by my Gramma. Never a crack, always a bright yellow center and it has worked every time for me. The only exception is that Gramma would have had me let the eggs sit over night to cool.  Not anymore, just to scared of making someone sick, so here is how I would recommend hard boiling eggs.

Place eggs in a heavy bottom pot, cover with cold water, at least 2 inches above the eggs. Bring this to a boil over medium high heat, once at a boil remove from heat, cover and let sit for 20 minutes. Then carefully plunged the boiled eggs into an ice water bath to stop the cooking process. Dry with paper towels and refrigerate overnight. When peeling, lightly crack the entire egg against the counter or sink and peel under cold running water. I have never had a problem with the shell coming off, nor do my peeled eggs have divots due to peeling.  Give it a try and check out my recipe blog for colored deviled eggs.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on August 28, 2012 in Salads, Sandwiches, Spreads

 

Tags: ,

10 responses to “Hard Boiled Eggs

  1. howsmallatrout5

    August 28, 2012 at 10:15 PM

    I beg your pardon, but why/how are the eggs red and blue?

     
    • trkingmomoe

      August 28, 2012 at 11:52 PM

      I found it. Look in the menue on the right under snacks. Then scroll down to the 6th recipe. Just like doing easter eggs with out the shell.

       
    • flyfishbrat

      August 29, 2012 at 7:55 PM

      LOL…I colored them that way. The method is on my blog, thinking under “Colored Deviled Eggs”

       
  2. trkingmomoe

    August 28, 2012 at 11:48 PM

    I looked but didn’t see that blog. Found some other cool recipes though.

     
    • trkingmomoe

      August 28, 2012 at 11:53 PM

      I found them. I can’t wait to try them. Thanks.

       
      • flyfishbrat

        August 29, 2012 at 7:57 PM

        So glad, they are so easy…and kinda a show stopper on the table. Especially if you don’t tell anyone your making them and catch them by surprise.

         
    • flyfishbrat

      August 29, 2012 at 7:55 PM

      Really, I’ll try to and send it to you.

       

Leave a Reply

 
