RSS

Bacon and Eggs for Breakfast

30 Aug

Bacon and Eggs

This post is specially created for my lovely young niece Ashley Pauline. I hope it will help her discover the joy of making bacon and eggs for breakfast in the morning…..And maybe others will find it helpful along the way.

The other night my niece Ashley was asking advice about cooking a special dinner. She’s young and new to the whole cooking experience and when she asked me the question  “what is packed Parmesan cheese?” I realized without home economics being taught in school, without mother’s cooking a dinner that the entire family sits down to eat all together, without Grandmothers around to share they family recipes, how is the younger generation to learn the joys of sharing their love for their family through the meals they prepare for them. How are they suppose to learn cooking terms?  (by the way the term “packed” means when measuring the ingredient, pack it so that it is densely measured rather than loosely measured”

I was lucky enough to have had the chance to take home economics “cooking” in junior high and high school. I loved those classes. I was also lucky because my mother needed help in the kitchen with family dinners so I was given the chance to prepare our family meals on many occasions. I was also very lucky to have had my Grandmother’s experience in the kitchen which she shared with me for many years of my life. All of this led to my passion for cooking meals for those that I care about.

My dear Ashley, you stole my heart the first time I laid eyes on you. Although I am thousands of miles away I hope you will find my blog enjoyable and helpful. It’s my way of sharing my passion of preparing meals for you so that you can eventually share preparing meals with your family.  Here’s your Aunt Teri’s way of making a breakfast of Bacon and Eggs.

Here are the ingredients you will need:

  • 1/2 pound of bacon, cut the slices in half
  • 3 eggs, room temperature
  • cracked black pepper

Here are the tools you will need:

  • 10″ frying pan
  • tongs
  • frying screen to fit the pan
  • spatula
  • a plate lined with a paper towel
  • 1 spoon
  • a couple of paper towels

Heat your frying pan over medium heat until hot, probably about 5 minutes. Add 4 slices of bacon, place the frying screen over the pan. (This will keep the grease from popping on you Missy) Fry the bacon until just starting to brown on that first side. Flip the bacon over and fry the over side just until it starts to brown. Now you can continue to flip from side to side every so often until the bacon is browned to your liking. Once you like how the bacon looks remove it from the pan and place it on your paper towel lined plate. Continue to fry the remaining slices of bacon the same way. When they are all cooked, remove you pan from the burner to cool for about 5 minutes. Turn the burner off for this time.

After the 5 minutes place the frying pan, still with the bacon grease in it, back on the burner and turn the heat to medium low. Crack the eggs over the frying pan, sprinkle with a little bit (a dash) of cracked black pepper and fry without moving them until the egg whites and yolks are set. This means the whites are turning from clear to white and the yolks no longer look runny. During this time continuously spoon the bacon grease over the eggs. Once the eggs are almost fully cooked, white and yellow, then flip them over using the spatula to the other side and fry just a couple more minutes to complete the cooking. (tip: if the eggs sticks to the pan, it’s not ready to be flipped) Now once the eggs are completely cooked I place them on the paper towels to blot off the excess grease.

Now Ashley, I generally use my cast iron skillet for cooking all of my bacon and eggs, but I’ll save that for the day you are able to be here to cook alongside me. Love you Miss Ashley.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 30, 2012 in Breakfast

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Bacon and Eggs for Breakfast

  1. Joe Graff

    August 30, 2012 at 9:41 PM

    Terri, you just rock. What an awesome post. @Ashley, you Aunt rocks. This is good stuff!

     
    • flyfishbrat

      August 30, 2012 at 9:44 PM

      Gee thanks Joe….just am in love with my niece and love that she calls me for help with her cooking adventure.

       
  2. M

    August 30, 2012 at 11:56 PM

    Can’t get much better than this. Mmmmmm

     
    • flyfishbrat

      August 31, 2012 at 8:00 PM

      Thanks “M”, Mark’s favorite breakfast.

       
  3. trkingmomoe

    September 2, 2012 at 7:18 AM

    I kept only a couple of my iron skillets because my smooth top stove came with directions not to use them. I kept the ones for in the oven. There is nothing greater then a well seasoned iron skillet to fry eggs in.

     
    • flyfishbrat

      September 2, 2012 at 9:14 AM

      I can only imagine how a cast iron skillet would destroy a beautiful smooth top stove. Fortunately we are old-schoolers with an electric burner range and unfortunately I don’t see a new stove in the future.

       

Leave a Reply

 
