RSS

Labor Day Weekend Menu

31 Aug

Our Amish Friend’s Mums

Happy Labor Day Weekend to everyone. Growing up in Southern California Labor Day marked the end of Summer and the beginning of the school year. Now that I live in Southwest Indiana, Labor Day marks the end of Summer and the beginning of Fall. Schools have been in session for a bit now, the pool is closed, the leaves are starting to turn and the mums are blooming. It’s also another excuse to have a cookout to celebrate.

Here’s our menu to usher in the Fall Season.

  • SMOKED PORK & BEEF RIBS
  • BROWN SUGAR & MOLASSES BOSTON BAKED BEANS
  • BASIC POTATO SALAD
  • SUMMER HARVEST SALAD
  • PEACH PIELETTES WITH A WHOLE WHEAT PIE CRUST

(You can find the recipes in my blog by using the above post titles in the search box)

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Labor Day Weekend Menu

  1. Teresa

    September 1, 2012 at 8:30 PM

    Hey, thanks for following my blog. I hope you enjoy it. Please let me know if you try any of the recipes and how they turn out for you.

     
    • flyfishbrat

      September 1, 2012 at 8:39 PM

      Hi Teresa, I thought I had already signed up to follow it. I read it frequently on my reader setting…but guess I forgot to have it email to me. I love your blog, so many interesting post. I thought I had already tried a couple of your recipes…I’ll have to look at my past grocery list, but I’m pretty sure I had. Love your post on cast iron skillets, don’t know how I missed that one.

       
      • Teresa

        September 2, 2012 at 5:03 PM

        Well let me know what you’ve tried already and what you thought of them. I would really appreciate it.

         
        • flyfishbrat

          September 2, 2012 at 6:19 PM

          Hi Teresa, here’s a few I’ve tried. Your Reeses cup blond brownies….we and our guest absolutely devoured them. I have made your Winter Fruit Salad a few times now and we love it. I sub out the romaine for spinach and boston butter lettuce and instead of regular sugar I use coconut palm sugar. Of course I was so happy to find the standby classic spinach dip recipe…I didn’t know where to find that, what a blast from the past. Made your breakfast cobbler for Mark to take to a club meeting, I used apple filling in it and the guys in the club ate it all up.

           
          • Teresa

            September 2, 2012 at 9:39 PM

            Wonderful. I actually have a recipe for the apple breakfast cobbler the only difference being adding cinnamon also.
            I’m so glad you are trying to recipes. If you’re looking for anything in particular let me know.

            I’m going to be posting an Oreo Cookie Ice Cream Mud Pie we had today for lunch sometime tomorrow with all the other things we had for lunch. It was spectacular and oh, so easy!

            Again, thanks for following my blog and actually trying a lot of the recipes. I know a lot of my personal friends have tried a lot of the recipes but you’re the first I’ve heard from reading the blog that has tried so many.

             
            • flyfishbrat

              September 3, 2012 at 12:02 PM

              Wow, the first, I guess I just assumed if people were reading recipes they would try them. I way newer to this recipe blogging thing than I had imagined. Shoot I started off just following the Food Network blog and tried so many of their recipes. I’m nuts about other peoples recipes. I love trying them out. Thanks for posting so many that I have enjoyed already.

               
  2. cindy knoke

    October 17, 2012 at 6:18 PM

    Yumm. This looks wonderful!

     
    • flyfishbrat

      October 18, 2012 at 7:49 PM

      Thanks Cindy, so glad you are finding recipes you enjoy.

       

Leave a Reply

 
