RSS

My Georgia Adventure

18 Sep

It was a quick trip to Georgia and back. Every minute was packed with adventures. I had a wonderful visit with my cousin, her daughter-in-law and her grand-daughter. That little girl stole my heart. After our visit we were off for a grand food adventure.

It is said that Georgia pecans are the best of anywhere, well I find that statement to be very true. We picked up 9 pounds of them…thinking this should last us a few months. We tried their version of Praline Pecans…Oh my what a delight. I will be working on that recipe for Thanksgiving. Then I discovered a version of a Hashbrown Casserole I had never imagined. It was made with such simple ingredients yet all those flavors tasted great together. Blackberry marinated Pork Chops are also on my list for recipes to recreate. … And then the best was definitely saved for last.

The Lady & Sons

Mark took me to Savannah, yes Savannah, to eat at Paula Deen’s restaurant “The Lady & Sons”.  Boy was it fabulous! I have no idea what any of their reviews are like, but I have to tell you she did not disappoint me. We ate there for Sunday Brunch and it satisfied every desire that my taste buds may have dreamed of.

Cheese Biscuit &
Hoe Cake

Upon being seated a plate was placed in front of both of us with a Hoe Cake and Cheddar Biscuit lying upon it. What a wonderful way to start our brunch. The biscuit just melted in our mouths and that Hoe Cake, wow! It was the best hoe cake I have ever ate. Light, airy and full of flavor. It was good all on its own, with the collard greens and with a little maple syrup on top of it. Her recipe will definitely be the one I use from now on.

The Lady & Son’s
Sunday Buffet

There were lots of choices on their buffet line. Southern Fried Chicken, BBQ Pulled Pork, Creamed Potatoes with Gravy, Green Beans, Lima Beans, Black Eyed Peas, Yams, Mac and Cheese and Collard Greens.  I have never ate Lima Beans, Black Eyed Peas or Collard Greens before. To my surprise I enjoyed both the beans and peas. But the Collard Greens were out of this world. I will be making these at home using Paula Deen’s recipe.

We also ordered some of her “Fried Green Tomatoes”. They were served with a Red Pepper Sauce and a Vidalia Onion Relish. Just lovely…the only drawback was that commercial green tomatoes just don’t have the fresh,tart and bold taste of the ones picked from your garden.  I am definitely going to be serving mine with her sauce and relish from now on.

Gooey Butter Cake

Now, not to let me down, they served a choice of desserts. We both chose her “Gooey Butter Cake” I can not describe how this melts in your mouth. It is the most delicate yet perfect taste of buttery heaven. I will be baking this, out of this world deliciousness, this weekend. I prepare a lot of dishes from Paul Deen’s various cookbooks and every single time the are wonderful.  But how did I ever miss this one. I can’t wait to see how this turns out for me. Thinking this recipe will also make it to my Thanksgiving table.

My Georgia adventure was a wonderful quick trip. I was able to visit with family that I rarely get to see and I was able to experience the recipes from one of my favorite cooks of all time, Paula Deen. I hope you all will get a chance to taste her food whether it’s at her restaurant or just from recreating it from her delightful recipes.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 18, 2012 in Places to eat, Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “My Georgia Adventure

  1. amy@afternoonpopcornsnack

    September 18, 2012 at 9:08 PM

    I’ve always wondered what that restaurant is really like. Thanks for the quick review and I’m glad you enjoyed your trip!

     
  2. trkingmomoe

    September 19, 2012 at 11:43 PM

    I don’t have any of her cook books I did copy a couple of her recipes from her TV show several years ago. I will be looking forward to your gooie butter cake.

     
    • flyfishbrat

      September 20, 2012 at 8:23 PM

      Hi “trkingmomoe” you have none of her cookbooks, oh you have to buy her original ones. They come in a boxed set and are just awesome. Gooey Butter Cake is on the menu for this weekend. We can’t wait to have it again.

       

Leave a Reply

 
