RSS

Russian Teacakes

04 Oct

Russian Teacakes

With the holidays approaching I am starting to make my menus for meals and goodies. These little cookies hold the flavor of the holidays for me. Some people know them as snowballs or mexican wedding cakes. But my mother always called them Russian Teacakes.

Ingredients: Yields about 3 dozen cookies

  • 1 cup salted butter, softened to room temperature
  • 1 1/4 cup powdered sugar, sifted, divided use
  • 1 1/4 tsp vanilla
  • 2 1/4 cups flour, sifted
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup walnuts or pecans, finely chopped

Preheat your oven to 400 and line your cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a large bowl mix the butter, 1/2 cup of the sifted powdered sugar and vanilla thoroughly. In another bowl whisk the sifted flour and salt together, then mix this into the butter mixture. Stir in the nuts, cover and chill in the refrigerator for at least 1 hour. Roll dough into 1″-inch balls and place on the parchment lined cookie sheets. Bake 10 to 12 minutes. Place the remaining sifted powdered sugar in a small deep sided bowl and while the cookies are still warm, roll them in the powdered sugar. Place them on a wire rack to cool slightly, then roll again in the powdered sugar. Return them back on the wire rack to cool completely. Then once cooled roll them in the powdered sugar a final time.

Tip:    I place my wire cooling racks over newspaper to help contain the powdered sugar mess. I also use 3 different cookie sheets. I have found lining the cookie/baking sheets with parchment paper helps ensure a consistent bake.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 4, 2012 in Cookies, Holidays

 

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “Russian Teacakes

  1. trkingmomoe

    October 6, 2012 at 12:19 AM

    That was the orignial recipe by Betty Crocker in the 1952 edition. I make them alot. The cookbook was my mothers.

     
    • flyfishbrat

      October 6, 2012 at 1:50 PM

      Wow, really? That’s so cool. Then I bet my mother got the recipe from my Grandmother. My mother would have been 7 years old when that cookbook came out. I’m going to have to look for that edition of Betty Crocker’s cookbook when I’m shopping my flea markets. Thanks for the information.

       
  2. trkingmomoe

    October 7, 2012 at 2:00 AM

    It is the cook book I learned how to cook out of. It has a nick name among cook book collectors call “Big Red” cook book. Big red was first published in 1950 which stayed in print until 1956 when the 2nd edition came out and was reprinted as a 50th aniversery copy in 2000. I bought 3 of those for my daughter and neices. I have my mothers which is falling apart. I have since found 2 original copies that now the 2 oldest grandkids have. It’s offical title is Betty Crocker Picture Cook Book. There were a few promotional Betty Crocker Cook Books before that. I think the big red name came from the fact that it was both published in a 3 ring binder and hard back. The recipe is on the last page of the cookie section page 206. The cook book gives credit to the people who submitted the recipes to General Mills that landed in the cook book. Here is a quote: “This favorite with men came to us from a man. Carl Burkland, a radio executive of New York City, made them himself for me one Christmas season.” Now we all know that Betty was not a real person but some one made up for a promotion for Washburn’s Gold Medal Flour in the 1920’s. I know this because I have a tin recipe box with reproduction prints on it. This recipe has been reprinted many times and is one of their most requested recipes. It was included in a Christmas Cookie Magazine that I have published in 2004 by General Mills. So your mother could have gotten it any where even out of a Gold Medal Flour bag insert. The only change that was made in your recipe ingredients is the addition of 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla. The baking temperature and time is the same. You shouldn’t have any trouble finding one. Amazon has them. The book is full of classic recipes and I still use it today. The unique thing that sets this cookbook apart from all the the others before that is the way the book uses it’s pictures to show you how. I know there is a generation out here now that don’t have anyone to show them how to cook but there was a lot of post WWII wives that couldn’t cook either that made this cook book a top seller.

     
    • trkingmomoe

      October 7, 2012 at 2:26 AM

      There really was a Carl Burkland. He was the General Manager of WAVY radio in Portsmouth, Va 1950’s an ABC affiliate. Hmmm…could it be he was wine-ing and dining a General Mills Ad excutive.

       
    • flyfishbrat

      October 7, 2012 at 1:00 PM

      Wow, thanks so much for the history of this recipe and the cookbook. I am going to hunt one down. I just love it.

       
  3. cindy knoke

    October 17, 2012 at 6:13 PM

    We make a lot of the same things! I love this recipe. Got it from my grandmother. Have made it every Xmas for over 35 years!

     
    • flyfishbrat

      October 18, 2012 at 7:48 PM

      I like that we cook similar items, that’s wonderful. My grandmother and mother also baked these cookies for Christmas…and now I make them. Another blogger told me the recipe is from the original Betty Crocker Cook Book. I found that really interesting. They are one of my favorites cookies.

       

Leave a Reply

 
