RSS

Thanksgiving is fast approaching…and this year I’m a guest.

11 Oct

Thanksgiving is fast approaching and I am super excited. It’s my favorite holiday. About a year after moving here to Southern Indiana I met my Mark. What a wonderful man God led me to. His family had always celebrated Thanksgiving together and that first year Mark invited me to join them at his house. Well after accepting he also asked me if I would help him prepare the meal. Well, Yes! Little did he know how much I love preparing Thanksgiving dinner and had spent many many years doing just that for and with my family back in California.

We have hosted every Thanksgiving Dinner since then….but this year is the most exciting yet. This year we have been invited to Tennessee for Thanksgiving. The best news is that he’s niece with the assistance of her mother will be preparing the meal. I can’t wait….for me it’s like watching the torch being past. I have such wonderful memories of my first very own Thanksgiving Dinner and I wish her all the best as I think it’s a very memorable time in the kitchen. So, this year I will be a very happy and excited guest of Jill’s first Thanksgiving Dinner and I can’t wait.

With our Thanksgiving being moved to another state it puts me in a very nice position with my recipe blog. I will be able to make some of my favorite Thanksgiving dishes and share them with everyone well before Thanksgiving. For me that’s a change as I generally post a recipe only after it has been prepared and eaten. For Thanksgiving breakfast, dinner and leftovers that would mean posting well after the holiday has past. I look forward to sharing all of my beloved recipes and hope you will find one or two you would like to share with your guest on Thanksgiving.

(The photos are from one of my Thanksgiving Tables. I’m a little different, I like to have a themed dinner table. These photos are from our fishing themed Thanksgiving Table. It was a lot of fun. I’m a simple kind of girl so our table is usually dressed with what we like and enjoy, usually nothing fancy, just fun. We found some fish material that Mark’s sister made a table runner out of for me. Then we made some fish place-mats out of cork paper from Home Dept. My son had gotten Mark a Fisherman Nutcracker so we staged him with a few items from the house, then added pine cones from our front yard and a few nuts. I made napkin rings out of handmade fishing lanyards.)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 11, 2012 in Holidays

 

2 responses to “Thanksgiving is fast approaching…and this year I’m a guest.

  1. Dee Block

    October 15, 2012 at 7:16 PM

    Terry: I am impressed with the fishing decor I don’t have that talent just use the same thing from last yr generally I host the dinner at our house always fewer guests it seems like each yr the grandkids seem to do what they want ( how dare them LOL they seem to think they are adults now one just married and don’t have to go to grandma and grandpa’s each year boo hoo for us ) have the same foods every year something we all like really much and usually don’t get the rest of the year have fun in TN (basil) Dee

     
    • flyfishbrat

      October 15, 2012 at 8:51 PM

      Hello Basil Dee, LOL
      We just have Mark’s family out for Thanksgiving, so it’s not really big…this year will be fun and different for us. The first Thanksgiving I was with Mark he insisted on having it at his house and we haven’t missed one yet. Thinking we need to alternate between Tennessee and California in the years to come.

       

Leave a Reply

 
