RSS

Collard Greens

15 Oct

Collard Greens

Collard Greens? Not something I was raised with, nor had I ever eaten them until visiting Paula Deen’s restaurant in Savannah. After eating them at “The Lady & Sons” I just had to try to make them for myself. Lucky for me I bought Miss Deen’s recipe card for her Collard Greens. I made a couple of adaptions, just because of my cooking preferences. These greens turned out marvelous! They will be going on my next Thanksgiving menu.

Ingredients:

  • 4 quarts chicken broth
  • 1 smoked pork shank, have the butcher cut it in half
    or thirds
  • 1 Tb all-meat seasoning
  • 1 Tb hot sauce
  • 2 large bunches of collard greens
  • 1 stick of salted butter

In stock pot bring the chicken broth to a boil. Add the pork shanks, all-meat seasoning and hot sauce. Reduce heat to medium and cook for 1 hour.

Wash the collard greens thoroughly. Remove the stems that run down the center by holding the stem in your left hand and stripping the leaf down with your right hand. The tender young leaves in the heart of the collard don’t need to be stripped.

Stack 6 leaves on top of one another, roll up, and slice into 1″-inch thick slices. Place the greens in the pot with the meat and add the butter. Cook for another 60 minutes, stirring occasionally. When done, taste and adjust seasoning if needed. (I didn’t have to add any seasoning) Serve as a side dish.

Suggestion: Serve with a hearty type of bread to sop up all the juices of the Collard Greens. Try one of my cornbread recipes or Paula Deen’s Hoecake recipe here on my site. Try using this recipe with Mustard Greens rather than Collard Greens.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 15, 2012 in Holidays, Thanksgiving, Vegetables

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Collard Greens

  1. cindy knoke

    November 17, 2012 at 9:52 PM

    I am completely jealous that you ate at Lady & Sons!

     
    • flyfishbrat

      November 17, 2012 at 10:19 PM

      If you ever get the chance and enjoy the Deen family you have to go. The food was just fabulous and I feel more in love with them while I was there.

       

Leave a Reply

 
