RSS

Corn Casserole

23 Oct

Corn Casserole

As I looked around the internet and cook books I found this is a universal recipe but it’s also a staple on the Thanksgiving table for Mark’s family. He just loves it. As for me, I had never had it until I moved out here to Indiana. It seems popular for many people here. This is Mark’s Aunt Debbie’s recipe, given to me by Mark’s sister. It originally called for 2 sticks of butter, I had to change that as after baking the casserole it was obviously a mistake in the recipe.

Ingredients:  yields 10-15 servings

  • 1 stick salted butter
  • 1 can cream-style corn
  • 1 can whole kernel corn, drained
  • 8 oz sour cream
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 box Jiffy corn muffin mix

Preheat your oven to 350.

Slice butter and place the slices in a 8 x 12 baking pan. Place in oven until the butter is melted. In a medium bowl mix together the cream-style corn, corn kernels, sour cream, salt and pepper. Whisk the eggs, add into the corn mixture along with the Jiffy corn muffin mix and stir well. Pour into the hot buttered dish and bake 45 to 60 minutes until golden brown.

This is an amazingly inexpensive dish. The cost today for this corn casserole was $4.84. That’s 48 to 32 cents per serving, you can’t beat that at any restaurant. My goal is to try making this casserole with home-grown sweet corn, then trying to pass it by Mark and see if he can tell the difference.

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Corn Casserole

  1. TheSurvivalGuy

    October 23, 2012 at 9:05 PM

    Reblogged this on thesurvivalplaceblog.

     
  2. artisticmilestone

    October 23, 2012 at 10:27 PM

    these looks delish and moist. I love buttery creamy corn desserts 🙂

     
  3. trkingmomoe

    October 23, 2012 at 10:47 PM

    I posted my version of this recipe a few months ago. The kids love it. I have been making it for years. It is a good main dish for meatless mondays. I usually serve it with beet pickled eggs and a salad. Thanks for sharing your story. I am trying to catch up with all the blogs and posts. I had a little computer trouble the last week. All fixed. I have 1200 emails from word press to go through.

     

Leave a Reply

 
