RSS

Enchilada Sauce – Quick & Easy

30 Oct

Inspired by a co-worker who is a young newlywed I created this quick and easy enchilada sauce. For years I have always had the ingredients readily available in my kitchen to make my homemade enchilada sauce. It never occurred to me that someone wouldn’t have 3 different dried chilies in their pantry to cook with at every whim. Forgive me, I’m old….so a young woman who I work with said she had everything to make some enchiladas for dinner except for the sauce and she didn’t want to go the market. Of course the first thing I asked her was, didn’t she have some in the freezer? Silly me. I thought for a minute and then told her I’m sure you could make a pretty good sauce with regular ingredients and spices you have at home. After a bit more time of thinking I gave her a rough draft of this recipe. I had never tried it, but she did and said it was a bit runny but it worked. So tonight I decided to work on the recipe and fine tune it. So here you have it, my homemade Enchilada Sauce, quick and easily made with the young new cook in mind. No stove top cooking, prepare in a blender or food processor and use directly from there. Really simple. Thanks Tricia for the inspiration.

Ingredients:  enough sauce for 1 dozen enchiladas

  • 1 can diced tomatoes with green chilies, drained
  • 1 Tb tomato paste
  • 1/2 yellow onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, diced
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/8 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp dried parsley, (make sure you crush it between your fingers)
  • 1/2 tsp dried cilantro, (also make sure you crush it between your fingers)
  • 1/2 tsp sweetened powered cocoa
  • 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper, optional
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 tsp cornstarch

Using a blender or food processor add all of the ingredients except the milk and cornstarch. Using a fork, whisk the cornstarch into the milk until completely dissolved then add the other ingredients. Process until the mixture is smooth. That’s all there is, now pour or spoon over your enchiladas before baking.

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Enchilada Sauce – Quick & Easy

  1. Auntie Adara

    October 30, 2012 at 9:42 PM

    Going to try this for sure

     
  2. Jim Block

    October 31, 2012 at 8:38 AM

    sounds wonderful.. Do you have an Enchilada recipe. I being from the mid west have never made an Enchilada, but I love eating them…As always you have the best BLOG I have ever seen…love, Love, LOVE it..

     
    • flyfishbrat

      October 31, 2012 at 7:20 PM

      Awww…thanks Jim. I have a few enchilada recipes on here. The next time I made some I will send you a batch down to you. Being from the midwest, you sound like Mark he can’t keep enchiladas, tacos and taquitos straight…but he loves all of them. I so glad you enjoy my blog.

       

Leave a Reply

 
