RSS

Cranberry Sauce

09 Nov

Cranberry Sauce

Ocean Spray Cranberries

Everyone loves cranberry sauce, but most people think it’s complicated to make. I was one of those people. Well actually I had always thought cranberry sauce came out of a can. That was until I met Mark’s mother, Mary Bee, who brought her homemade cranberry sauce to our Thanksgiving table. It was wonderful, and that’s an understatement. So I asked her how she made it and to my surprise she replied, “The recipe is on the back of the Ocean Spray Cranberries’ bag” So simple yet so good.

Ingredients:   yields 2 1/4 cups

  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 @ 12 ounce package of Ocean Spray fresh cranberries

Using a medium saucepan stir the sugar into the water and bring to a boil. Add the cranberries and return to a boil. Reduce the heat and gently simmer, stirring occasionally for about 10 minutes. Pour the sauce into a bowl, cover and let cool completely at room temperature. Refrigerate the cooled sauce until your ready to serve.

Suggestions: Freeze your leftover Cranberry Sauce for future use. This wonderful cranberry sauce can be used over ice cream. Try drizzling it over an apple pie or lemon pound cake. Use it to create a “Cranberry Syrup” as found in my recipe “French Toast with Fresh Cranberry Syrup”.

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Cranberry Sauce

  1. cindy knoke

    November 9, 2012 at 10:14 PM

    This is great to know! I had no idea. Thanks for posting.

     
  2. artisticmilestone

    November 10, 2012 at 7:54 AM

    Good Day flyfishbrat! I have nominated your blog Wonderful Team Member Readership Award! You may find the details here — http://artisticmilestone.wordpress.com/2012/11/10/wonderful-team-member-readership-award/

    Btw. That is a very easy cranberry sauce recipe. I love this type of sauce with turkey 🙂

     
    • flyfishbrat

      November 10, 2012 at 9:16 AM

      Hi “artisticmilestone”, thanks so much for the award nomination. That’s very generous of you and I really appreciate that you enjoy my recipes. As for this one, Ocean Spray really made it simple and the flavor is out of this world. I truly save every bit of the leftovers. Freeze them, then bring them out to create other recipes with. Shoot I have 2 bags of cranberries in my freezer right now and the sauce we ate last night with dinner was from a previous Thanksgiving where I had froze the leftovers. Give it a try for Thanksgiving and enjoy.

       
  3. afternoonpopcornsnackgirl

    November 11, 2012 at 12:07 AM

    I’ve been craving cranberries! I guess it’s that time, isn’t it?

     

Leave a Reply

 
