RSS

My Thanksgiving Feast

19 Nov

A Thanksgiving menu should be full of your favorites. New and old favorites. Something for everyone. Plenty of food with enough leftovers for the weekend to follow. This year an end to an era has come. For the first time in many years I will be a guest for this holiday. I am excited about the torch being passed, on the other hand this is a life changing holiday for me. With children in our families growing to become adults, marrying and moving away our Thanksgiving holiday is changing. I’m thinking I won’t be cooking a big Thanksgiving dinner again until my Son and his family come out for a visit. Not to say I won’t be assisting others, new and probably younger cooks around me….and that’s the way it should be.

I’m glad that I had a number of weeks before this current Thanksgiving to compile, write and prepare my favorite dishes. Blogging is a wonderful way of documenting my recipes for my Son, Daughter-in-Law, future grandchildren and my niece. A legacy of food that can be enjoyed for years to come.

The following photos are menu items that you could have traditionally counted on when spending Thanksgiving with us.Ā  Sometimes we would have as few as 9 and as many as 24 guest. For me the key is everyone gets a plate full with plenty of leftovers for seconds, late snacks and meals for the days to come.

So…here it is…. My Thanksgiving Feast.

Thanksgiving Turkey

Thanksgiving Stuffing

Cranberry Sauce

Southern Green Beans

Sweet Potato Casserole

Potatoes Au Gratin

Whole Wheat Beer Bread

Corn Casserole

Cranberry Salsa

Garlic Parmesan Mashed Potatoes

Collard Greens

Potatoes roasted with
Fresh Rosemary & Parsley

Candid Bacon wrapped
Sweet Potatoes

Cheddar Cheese Popovers

Red Velvet Cake

Cranberry Salsa Crisp

Pumpkin Pie in a Pecan
Ginger Shortbread Crust

Paula Deen’s
“Gooey Butter Cake”

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 19, 2012 in Thanksgiving

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “My Thanksgiving Feast

  1. artisticmilestone

    November 20, 2012 at 12:24 AM

    Wow lots of stuff to dive into. I wish I was there! šŸ˜¦ Your such a great chef šŸ™‚

     
    • flyfishbrat

      November 20, 2012 at 8:27 PM

      Aww, you very kind “artisticmilest” but I’m no way a chef, just a home cook preparing dishes for the ones I love and sharing them along the way.

       
  2. afternoonpopcornsnackgirl

    November 20, 2012 at 6:16 AM

    Wow! It all looks so yum and I’m ready to eat now! Thanks for sharing!

     
    • flyfishbrat

      November 20, 2012 at 8:28 PM

      Thanks for following “afternoonpopcorn” Have a Happy Thanksgiving.

       

Leave a Reply

 
