RSS

Jane’s Candy Cookies

21 Dec
Candy Cookies

Candy Cookies

I work with Jane who has wonderful family recipes. This is just one of them.. It seems some people call them no bakes, but their traditional name seems to be “Candy Cookies”. I made them for the first time tonight. Unbelievably easy, no baking and so wonderfully good. Thanks Jane for sharing your family recipe with me.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 stick unsalted butter
  • 4 Tb unsweetened Cocoa
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2DSC_0369 (2) cup milk
  • 2 1/2 cups quick oats
  • 2 heaping Tb peanut butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/3 cups salted peanuts (optional)

In a medium saucepan over medium heat combine the sugar, butter, Cocoa, salt and milk. Stir occasionally until the butter melts into the other ingredients. Increase heat to medium high, bring to a boil, and boil for 2 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat and stir the oats, peanut butter and vanilla. (If you’re adding the peanuts, add them now also) Make sure everything is combined well. Place the mixture on wax paper by the tablespoonful. Let cool thoroughly before serving or storing.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 21, 2012 in Cookies, Holidays

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Jane’s Candy Cookies

  1. Teresa

    December 22, 2012 at 8:32 PM

    Congratulations! I’ve nominated your blog for the Blog of the Year Award 2012. If you are interested in participating you can access your badge icon and rules at http://cantstayoutofthekitchen.com/2012/12/22/blog-of-the-year-2012-award-2nd-star/. I hope you will participate! Teresa

     
    • flyfishbrat

      December 23, 2012 at 8:30 AM

      Thank you so much Teresa. I would love to participate. Hopefully this next week while I’m off I can catch up with the awards you have nominated me for. Thank you again for many nominations, I truly appreciate each and every one of them. Have a Merry Christmas my fellow blogger. I’m sure I will be reading a recipe on your blog I will be adding to my holiday menu.

       
      • Teresa

        December 23, 2012 at 2:25 PM

        You’re so very welcome. I’m very happy to nominate you. It’s so well deserved.

         

Leave a Reply

 
