RSS

Traditional Wassail

23 Dec

I’m feeling very homesick this year. So I have surrounded myself with treats from my childhood Christmases of years past. A traditional Wassail reminds me of my Great Uncle Lou and Great Aunt Wanda’s yearly Christmas Eve open house. Not only was it a pleasure to share this warm holiday drink with Mark’s family but it placed a warm feeling in my heart to revisit those lovely memories of my Aunt and Uncle.

Ingredients:

  • 2 oranges generously studded with whole cloves
  • 6 to 8 cups apple cider
  • 3 to 4 cups pineapple juice
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup honey
  • the zest and juice of 2 limes
  • 2 to 3 cinnamon sticks
  • 1 apple, peeled, cored and thickly sliced.

Place the studded oranges in a shallow baking dish. Add about 1/2 inch of water and bake in a 325 degree oven for 30 minutes. While the oranges are baking combine all the remaining ingredients in a crock pot. Stir and set the temperature on high. Once the liquid becomes hot reduce the temperature to low. When the oranges are done baking, remove them from the baking dish, slice in half and add to the crock pot. Serve warm.

(I’m sorry I don’t have a photo of my Wassail but we drank it all before I remembered to photograph it)

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 23, 2012 in Drinks, Holidays, Thanksgiving

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Traditional Wassail

  1. Kitt Crescendo

    December 23, 2012 at 9:17 PM

    We make wassail, too. Used to have a giant pot waiting every year when we got back from our carrolling party. Moving to FL it was never cold enough…till the last few days. Maybe I’ll make some tomorrow!

     
    • flyfishbrat

      December 24, 2012 at 9:37 AM

      Hi Kitt, it’s just wonderful during this holiday season. Hope you make yours. Now I from California and I remember a lot of my Aunts guest pouring it over ice for a Iced Wassail.

       
      • Kitt Crescendo

        December 24, 2012 at 9:51 AM

        Really? Never would’ve considered. We always had it hot…kind of like people drink cider. ๐Ÿ™‚

         
        • flyfishbrat

          December 24, 2012 at 3:26 PM

          Now some of my Aunts guest, when drinking it over ice, would add a little something something to bring it up to an adult drink. LOL

           
      • Kitt Crescendo

        December 24, 2012 at 9:51 AM

        Really? Never would’ve considered. We always had it hot…kind of like people drink cider. ๐Ÿ™‚

         

Leave a Reply

 
