RSS

Leftover Turkey Enchiladas

04 May
Turkey Enchiladas

Turkey Enchiladas

So you need a quick and easy dinner, or you just need to go shopping but also need to cook one more dinner before going out. Enchiladas or Casserole?  Well for me enchiladas are a casserole. I make them in the traditional style and I also use all kinds of leftovers to make them. That’s how I was taught many years ago to use up my leftovers.

This recipe is one I threw together when I needed to go grocery shopping but also needed to make dinner. Lucky for me I always have leftovers of some kind in the freezer.

Ingredients:

  • a couple of cups of leftover turkey pieces, diced
  • about 1/2 cup leftover sweet corn kernels
  • half an onion, diced
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • seasonings consist of cumin, cayenne pepper and salt
  • 12 corn tortillas, I always have tortillas in my freezer, broke down by the dozen
  • a couple of cups of enchilada sauce, that I had in the freezer, but please use canned if needed
  • a couple of cups of shredded cheddar cheese, I always have a mexican blend of shredded cheese in my freezer
  • a couple handful of fresh spinach, shredded

Preheat your oven to 350 and spray a baking dish with a pan spray.

DSC_0906Combine the turkey pieces, sweet corn, onion, garlic and about 1/2 a cup of the cheese. Sprinkle with some cumin, cayenne pepper and salt, toss everything well. Use warmed and soft corn tortillas, I heat mine in the microwave. Spoon about a tablespoon of the meat mixture in the center of the tortilla and firmly roll up. Work your way through the dozen tortillas placing them side by side in the baking dish. Once all the enchiladas are in the dish spoon the enchilada sauce over the top of them, making sure every single one is well covered. Sprinkle the rest of the cheese over the top of that. Cover the baking dish with foil that has been sprayed with a pan spray so that the cheese doesn’t stick to it. Bake covered for 20 minutes. Uncover and bake an additional 20 minutes until the cheese is melted and bubbly. Serve over the shredded spinach, it’s an easy way to get your greens in.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 4, 2013 in Casseroles, Left-Over Delights

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Leftover Turkey Enchiladas

  1. Paleo Cookbooks

    May 12, 2013 at 7:56 AM

    Your means of describing all in this piece of writing is in fact pleasant, all be able to easily
    be aware of it, Thanks a lot.

     

Leave a Reply

 
