RSS

Chicken Chilaquilas

06 Nov
Chicken Chiliquillas

Chicken Chilaquilas

Yum, Yum, Yum ….. another recipe that sends me back to my Southern California roots. Chilaquilas of any kind are just a great way to use up leftovers. Whether you make them for breakfast by adding some scrambled eggs or use them as an afternoon snack, they will hit the spot.

Ingredients:  Serves 3 to 4 people

  • 12 corn tortillas, cut into eighths
  • vegetable oil for frying
  • a couple of cups of shredded Chipotle Chicken (see my recipe)
  • 1 1/2 cups Green Tomato Enchilada Sauce (see my recipe)
  • 3/4 cups Queso Fresco
  • 1 to 1/2 cups shredded Mexican Cheese

Preheat your oven to 375 and butter your baking dish

In a large skillet over medium-high heat, fry the corn tortillas pieces until they are thoroughly browned.

In a large mixing bowl, gently combine the fried tortillas, shredded chicken, green tomato enchilada sauce and the queso fresco. I use my hands to do this, it’s messy but you can mix all the ingredients gently this way. Place in the baking dish, sprinkle the shredded cheese over the top. Cover with foil that has been sprayed with a pan release. Bake for 10 minutes, remove the foil and bake for another 10 minutes until the cheese is melted and bubbly.

DSC_1607 (2)DSC_1608 (2)DSC_1610 (2)DSC_1614DSC_1613DSC_1619 (2)

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Chicken Chilaquilas

  1. Susan T's Kitchen

    November 8, 2013 at 7:37 PM

    Where do you live now? I am in Socal and love it.

     
    • flyfishbrat

      November 12, 2013 at 8:42 PM

      Hi Susan T, I am a born and raised So Cal Girl, but 8 years ago I took and 1 year contract to work in Indiana with a restaurant chain start-up. I fell in love with the state and an awesome man, so needless to say, South Western Indiana is now my home. But oh how I miss the flavors of So Cal.

       

Leave a Reply

 
