RSS

Christmas Doodle Cookies

22 Dec
Christmas Doodles Cookies

Christmas Doodle Cookies

Well, I’m in the middle of baking all my favorite cookies for Christmas. I thought I had checked all of the ingredients I would need, but sadly I forget to check the cream of tartar. So….after already having the basic recipe started for Snickerdoodles and finding I only had 1/2 the amount of that spice needed I decided to change it up a bit. How about spicing it up with the Christmas flavors I love. A little ginger and cloves. Here’s my recipe for what I am calling Christmas Doodle Cookies.

Ingredients:  Yields 3 1/2 dozen cookies

  • 1/2 cup shortening, softened
  • 1/2 salted butter, softened
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 3/4 cups sifted flour
  • 1 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 3 TB sugar
  • 3 TB ground cinnamon

DSC_1811 (2)Preheat your oven to 400 and line a couple of cookies sheets with parchment paper.

Cream together the shortening, butter and eggs. Stir the dry ingredients together and stir them all into the creamed ingredients. In a small bowl mix together the sugar and cinnamon. Shape a tablespoon of cookie dough into a ball and roll in the sugar cinnamon mixture until coated. Place on the lined cookie sheets about 2″-inches apart and bake for 10 minutes.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 22, 2013 in Cookies, Holidays

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Christmas Doodle Cookies

  1. Auntie Adara

    December 22, 2013 at 4:40 PM

    Boy I can smell them now

     
    • flyfishbrat

      December 22, 2013 at 9:51 PM

      Thanks Aunt Adara, they tasted just like Christmas when I was little.

       

Leave a Reply

 
