RSS

Ham, Split Pea and Veggie Soup

15 Jan
Ham, Split Pea & Veggies Soup

Ham, Split Pea & Veggie Soup

So I’m trying to prepare and eat a bit more healthier this year. Trying is the key word. I love to cook and I love the way homegrown, homemade food taste. Since moving to Southwest Indiana from Southern California 9 years ago I have increased my waistline greatly and I would like to say it’s because of all the wonderful fried food here. But the reality is it’s a blend of them along with my increasing inactivity. The joys of leading a slower pace life and enjoying heavier foods is catching up with me. So I’m vowing to make a greater effort to decrease my flour and sugar intake, increase my veggies and fruits and get out of the kitchen and into the garden a little bit more. So here’s a stab at cleaning out my leftovers and veggie crisper drawer. I have to admit this soup turned out awesome but it would have been better if I had paired it with a nice cornbread…..maybe next time.

DSC_1887Ingredients:

  • 2 large stalks celery, sliced
  • 1 yellow or white onion, diced
  • 2 carrots, diced
  • 1 leek, white part only, sliced
  • 1 1/2 cups dry green split peas
  • 1 TB olive oil
  • 2 TB salted butter
  • 2 to 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp Lawry’s Season Salt
  • 12 cups chicken broth
  • 3 to 4 cups ham chunks, leftovers
  • 1/4 of a green cabbage, sliced
  • 2 handfuls each of Kale and Spinach, shredded
  • flaked Parmesan cheese, optional for garnishing

In a stock pot over medium high heat melt the butter into the oil. Add the celery, onion, carrots, leek and split peas, saute until the onions are softened. Add the garlic, pepper and season salt, stir well. Pour in the chicken broth, add the ham chunks and cabbage slices, stir until mixed well. Cover, bring to a boil, reduce heat and cook on a low boil or high simmer for 30 minutes, until the split peas are soft and tender. Stir in the kale and spinach and continue to cook for 15 more minutes. Serve with a garnish of flaked Parmesan cheese.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2014 in Left-Over Delights, Pork, Soups and Stews

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Ham, Split Pea and Veggie Soup

  1. trkingmomoe

    January 21, 2014 at 5:22 PM

    I just made some split pea soup this week. I put some in the freezer too. Thanks for the recipe.

     
    • flyfishbrat

      January 25, 2014 at 8:00 PM

      You are welcome, glad you tried the recipe.

       

Leave a Reply

 
