RSS

Turkey Meatballs

03 May
Turkey Meatballs

Turkey Meatballs

Now I know turkey isn’t for everyone….actually I never use ground turkey and I didn’t for this recipe either. I used some turkey leftovers and was able to get them seasoned perfectly before adding them to my spaghetti sauce. It was a shocker, but I was so happy, another way to use my leftover turkey.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups or so of leftover turkey pieces
  • 1 carrot
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 of an onion
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup fine Italian Bread Crumbs
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp garlic salt

Using a food processor add the turkey pieces, carrot, celery, garlic and onion and pulse until everything is finely minced. Add the egg and process until completely blended. Stir in the Italian Bread Crumbs, black pepper and garlic salt. Make small balls out of the mixture and place on a broiling pan. Broil under low for 5 minutes, turn then broil for 3 to 4 minutes longer until browned on both sides. Place the browned meatballs in a skillet of warmed spaghetti sauce and simmer on low for 20 minutes before adding pasta.

DSC_0918DSC_0921 (2)DSC_0923 (2)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 3, 2013 in Left-Over Delights

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Turkey Meatballs

  1. jujuskitchen

    May 4, 2013 at 1:30 PM

    Good idea – in the past I have always used ground turkey, maybe I will try the turkey pieces the next time!

     

Leave a comment