RSS

Daily Archives: March 17, 2012

What a fast and fun week.

Well this week went extremely fast. Loving my new job and very glad to have it during this economy. Along with my new job I am still preparing 14 meals a week along with snacks here and there…sounds crazy doesn’t it? But it’s what I love to do and it truly cost less to cook everything yourself than to go out to eat. On top of that it keeps us eating healthy.

Spring has finally sprung upon us and I am so ready to get out there. Mark took me out fishing on the lake in the middle of this week and it was wonderful to be out there enjoying nature at it’s finest.

This weekend will be a busy one for me, I have plans to weed my flower and plant gardens and work on getting my flowers and herb pots ready for planting. It’s still to soon for planting in the big garden, maybe next month. Then I have a number of recipes I want to prepare this weekend for my blog. There are some wonderful ideas coming your way next week, I just can’t wait to share them with all of you. Needless to say we’ll be eating well this weekend.

I hope you all are still enjoying my recipes. It’s really fun for Mark and I to look back through the pictures of everything I have made for us to eat. I never realized how much I cook everyday until I started this blog. I am thoroughly enjoying sharing my recipes so please pass me along to your friends, family, fans and blog followers. I would love to increase my follower’s base, so remember you can follow me through email on this blog, or join my page on Facebook at “Recipes from my kitchen” Evansville, Indiana. Oh and you can also find me at StumbleUpon & Pinterest at Flyfishbrat. It’s amazing how many venues there are out there with the help of social media.

Until then I hope everyone enjoys their St. Patty’s weekend and shares good ole home cooking with those you care about. Happy eating and don’t forget to experiment with your recipes.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Chocolate Chip Buttermilk Pancakes Supreme

Ingredients:   serves 2-4 people

  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 2 Tb vegetable oil
  • 1 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 Tb sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup white chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup sweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 Tb chopped walnuts
  • 1 Tb chopped pecans
  • 2 Tb butter

In a small bowl combine the dark chocolate chips, white chocolate chips, coconut, walnut and pecans. Squish the butter between you fingers so that you have very little crumbles and add to the chip mixture. Set aside for sprinkling on top of the batter.

In a medium bowl combine the egg, buttermilk and oil. Sift together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt over the liquid ingredients. Stir together until blended, batter will be slightly lumpy.

Whether you use a 10″ skillet or griddle heat it over medium and once well heated you may want to grease it slightly with butter. Pour a 1/4 cup or so of batter in the center of the pan, sprinkle the sweet ingredients over the top. Turn the pancakes as soon as they are puffy, have dry edges and are full of bubbles, but before the bubbles burst. Brown the other side. Serve immediately with slices of butter and warm maple syrup. If needed you can keep them warm in a 200 degree oven on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 17, 2012 in Breakfast

 

Tags: ,