RSS

Daily Archives: March 10, 2012

Herb Season is closer now…..

In my neck of the woods Spring is drawing closer.  My plans today are to spend time outside planning for my herbs and flower gardens.Once we get through the chance of frost or freezing weather it will be time to start planting.

First on my list, my HERBS. I may still have some left in the freezer from last year, but not enough for me. I am addicted to NOT paying grocery store prices for fresh herbs. When you grow them yourself I swear they taste even better.

So…why not grab yourself a couple of pots, find a sunny place, plant a few Basil, Parsley and Rosemary plants…then just sit back and enjoy your very own harvest throughout the Spring, Summer and Fall.

I have big plans this year, I’m going to plant everything I can, and go big on the herbs I love.

I hope everyone has a wonderful and enjoyable weekend. I’ll be back on Monday with some special recipes, and as always, enjoy yourself in your kitchen….hey maybe invite someone in there with you tonight.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 10, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Pesto Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup torn or chopped fresh basil leaves
  • 1/2 cup grated or shredded Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 cup torn or chopped fresh parsley
  • 1/2 cup Olive Oil
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 3 cloves garlic

Put all ingredients in a food processor and blend until smooth. Use immediately or refrigerate up to 5 days.

Suggestions: Use on pizza, pasta, chicken, or vegetables. I like to make a double batch and freeze it in a zip lock baggy.

 

Tags:

Steamed Broccoli with Pesto Sauce

Ingredients: 4 to 5 servings

  • 1 head of Broccoli, trimmed
  • 1 bunch parsley stems, (left over from use)
  • 2 Tb Pesto Sauce “see my recipe”

Using a steaming pot, place the parsley stems along the bottom portion of the pot. Place the broccoli on top of the parsley stems and bring water to a boil. Steam for 10 to 15 minutes until tender. Remove broccoli, discard parsley and the water from the bottom of the pot. Off heat return the broccoli to the warm pot, add the pesto sauce and toss well.

Suggestions: Sprinkle some shredded Parmesan Cheese over the top of these. Also try mixing Mozzarella Cheese in with the Pesto Sauce for a delicious cheesy broccoli dish.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 10, 2012 in Paleo recipes, Vegetables

 

Tags: , ,